Contact Us 1-800-955-1925
Overseas Adventure Travel Reviews The Leader in Small Groups on the Road Less Traveled
Overseas Adventure Travel Reviews
Overseas Adventure Travel Reviews
Learn about our trips from the best source—our Traveler Reviews!
There’s no better way to learn what a trip is like than from the firsthand experiences of fellow travelers—which is why we created Overseas Adventure Travel Reviews. Here, you can read unedited travel reviews, giving you an honest appraisal of the discoveries that await you on our unique small-group adventures. Overseas Adventure Travel (OAT) was founded in Cambridge, Massachusetts in 1978 by a 28-year old high school teacher named Judi Wineland, who was inspired by a trip to Africa. From the beginning, OAT offered custom small-group tours to destinations around the world. In 1993 OAT was purchased by the Grand Circle Corporation, becoming the first U.S. travel company to create, operate, and sell adventure trips to Americans aged 50 and over.

Overseas Adventure Travel Reviews

Average Rating
4.8   4.8 | 992 reviews
937 out of 992 (94%) reviewers would recommend Overseas Adventure Travel
Rating Breakdown
5 ★   842
4 ★   104
3 ★   19
2 ★   12
1 ★   15
Rating Summary
Accomodations   5
Food   4
Itinery   5
Trip Leader   5
Value   5
Recent Reviews

Ultimate Africa: Botswana, Zambia & Zimbabwe Safari

Ultimate South Africa

5   1 year ago
This Oct. OAT adventure was just like watching a Nature show on TV--we saw so many animals and birds that many don't see--besides seeing the big five, we saw a monitor lizard, secretary birds & crowned cranes, otters, painted wild dogs, porcupine, bush rabbit, puku antelope, bush pigs, ants attacking a termite nest, etc. Our guide, Titus, was so knowledgeable & certainly got us thinking about controversial topics affecting this area. Enjoyed our compatible group of people & learned a lot about birds as there was a birder in the group. Delicious food similar to American food with an occasional surprise of warthog or impala entrees. Loved going to sleep at night listening to the hippo sounds in the river and the bird sounds. The drivers were good trackers and explained animal habitats--we were constantly learning. Enjoyed the luxury tents, one with no bathroom ceiling so found a frog hanging onto the canvas wall, spreadeagled--a great place to see the bright stars at night. Temperatures were very hot but the foliage was gone so we were better able to see through the bush to spot animals. A Day in the Life--school & village discussion was incredible! Capetown, for me, was like a gradual return to civilization--cooler, no dust, learning about Apartide & the Townships where black and colored live, penguins, wine country, & more. I felt safe and well taken care of.
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Friends

Sicily's Ancient Landscapes & Timeless Traditions

Sicily with pre trip to Puglia

4   1 year ago
Puglia and Sicily were awesome. Most things were A+ but some need attention. I know that OAT wants to personalize the tours by not using electronic amplification, but I fell that in this day and age, it is essential. Unless you are standing hip-attached to the guide, you often cannot hear due to background noise, etc. I think the Whisperers would enhance the experience. HOTELS Most hotels were excellent, the only exception being the Agriturismo Gigliotto in Piazza Armerina. The setting is charming. The view of Mt. Etna is lovely, but we were there in November and the rooms were unheated and cold. We were told that they don't put the heat on until Nov. 15, but the heat was on in the office. They were warm, we weren't. PACING. I wouldn't have minded a slower pace so we could have 'stoped and smelled the roses' so to speak. It was rush, rush, rush. Time at leisure had optional events scheduled which of course we wouldn't want to miss. Did not feel like I 'got' the sense of Italy. Felt like I was just being rushed through it. Even on the bus, the driver talked the whole time. FOOD. The food in Puglia was outstanding. In the restaurants we visited in Sicily, it was ok. TRIP LEADERS. Both trip leaders, Paolo and Davide were excellent. They were knowledgeable, friendly, interesting, and willing to help when needed. VALUE. I thought it was overpriced. AIR TRAVEL. The airport in Rome is awful. Had to take three buses to get from one plane to the next. Service was perfunctory at best, rude at worst. I hope I never have to fly Alitalia again.
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Friends

Mongolia & the Gobi Desert

Rain, Hail, Snow and a Great Time!

5   2 years ago
A great trip that is not for everyone. I left Houston and 90 degree weather on May 21. The first two days in Ulaanbaatar (UB) were warm. I went for walks before breakfast in shorts and a t-shirt. UB was a more modern city than I had expected. The hotel here was outstanding in every way--breakfasts, room, and staff were exceptional. You will come back to UB for one night after each 3 night stay in gers. The first ger is in the national park not too far from UB. It was cold here with coal burning heaters in the ger that were refilled by the fire lady at midnight and again at 5:30 am. We had heavy rain with hail that covered the ground one day here. We didn't miss any activity since our very capable TL rearranged things around the weather. My favorite activity here was building a ger with help from the staff. Also cold at the second ger in the lake area. No bath attached to your ger here so if you have to go at night, it's up, get dressed and walk to the main building. It snowed here on May 31 starting right after midnight and continuing until about 10 am--about 2 inches that covered the ground and enough for a snowman. We visited the family with the yaks while it was still snowing. The only activity we missed the whole trip was the boat ride on the lake which was still frozen. We did locate the reindeer people here and saw their herd and watched them build a teepee to live in while in the area. The third ger was in the Gobi and was my favorite. Back to short sleeves after the early morning and great to walk in the desert as the sun was coming up. Food and service here were outstanding. Don't take this trip if you can't walk the three miles unaided as the booklet states. Don't take this trip if you need smooth roads. The roads are bumpy when the exist. Don't take this trip if you need perfect weather. Do take rain gear and be prepared for sudden changes. Don't take this trip if you need to follow the schedule exactly and can't be flexible. Don't take this trip if you expect the internal flights to go when scheduled. We expected to leave UB for the lake ger early in the morning when the flight was changed to 5:30 pm. But as a result, the TL got us unto a sports school to watch the wresting team practice for their competitions--something we would have missed had everything gone as planned. But do go if you like adventure in four radically different environments in a country that has a way of life that is not going to be around forever. Do go if you can adjust and savor the unexpected. One of my favorite trips.
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Solo Traveler by Myself

Morocco Sahara Odyssey

A Very Average Adventure

3   1 year ago
I recently returned from the trip to Morocco and elected to take the pre trip. This was a waste of time and money. The three days spent in Chefchaouen were very disappointing primarily because of the lodging. The riad was poorly located and very much limited how far one could explore on their own. The rooms were poorly arranged and almost no lighting. The optional tour to Tetouan was generally uninteresting and the only good part was the scenery on the drive back. As far as the main part of the trip there was entirely too much time spent on a bus; particularly from Quarzazate to Marrakesch. It is long and boring and by the time we reached the supposed 5star resort all you could do is eat dinner and sleep and then get up early to get back on the bus. The best part of the trip was the two days camping in the desert and the time spent in Marrakesh. Quite frankly you could arrange both on your own and probably save a lot of time and money.
✘ No, I do not recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Friends

Chile & Argentina: Andes to Patagonia

THE BEST WAY to celebrate my 70th birthday!!!

5   1 year ago
My 7th OAT adventure was beyond my expectations...very varied itinerary; many interactions with local people (ate fish caught by a fisherman in his family's restaurant; rode horseback and enjoyed a barbeque at a family ranch; helped make a traditional lunch; held hands with elementary kids at a school supported by the Grand Circle Foundation; heard about a controversial subjects); and experiencing such incredible natural landscapes (hikes on a volcano, walks in the woods, chair lifts; river floating along the Limay River, viewing a large glacier chunk on a beach and the El Calafate glacier with its "Frozen"-like appearance); and seeing so many birds including two condors soaring over our heads;
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Solo Traveler by Myself

Crossroads of the Adriatic: Croatia, Montenegro, Bosnia & Herzegovina, and Slovenia

A Balkan revisit

5   2 years ago
I took this trip largely because I had traveled extensively in Yugoslavia over a half-century ago. My experiences then did little to prepare me for the magnificence of the various cities I revisited and the countries that didn't even exist in 1959. The pre-trip to Albania was an excellent opportunity to visit what was once the most closed country in all of Europe and the main trip was perhaps the best OAT trip I've yet to take. While Dubrovnik and Ljubljana were largely as I remember them, Sarajevo and Zagreb are greatly changed. It was thrilling to see how these republics have recovered from the bitter ethnic wars of some twenty years ago. Our Group Leader, Stefan, set a new, high standard for what to expect from an OAT Group Leader. It is not that Group Leaders on OAST__trips we had taken previously were anything but excellent, it's just that Stefan was completely awesome. I never had a group leader who called each room on arriving at a hotel to ask if the room was satisfactory. And this was just one of many things he did to make the trip truly memorable.
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Spouse/Partner

Real Affordable Peru

Fall in Love with Peru

5   2 years ago
Our trip to Peru was excellent. Our group leader, Boris, was a super guide. He was knowledgeable and kind. He went out of his way to make our experience enjoyable. Our Lima guide was Dante, another excellent guide. The food was out of this world, even the cuy (guinea pig). The two opportunities to visit Machu Picchu gave us plenty of time to explore. Our group was congenial and fun. This was my first OAT trip, but it will not be my last.
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Friends

Israel: The Holy Land & Timeless Cultures

Best OAT trip EVER!

5   2 years ago
This was our third OAT trip, so our expectations were high. Our tour leader and program manager, Rafi Rozanes met and exceeded all of our expectations. He showed us all the sights in our itinerary, explaining the historical as well as religious significance to us. He even gave us "customer delights," unanticipated bonuses such as an opportunity to participate in Friday prayers at the Western Wall followed by a meal (Shabbat) in his home with his family: Totally unexpected, thoroughly enjoyed. We visited many holy places that we are familiar with from the Bible as well as historically significant secular venues. For example, we stopped at Mt. Scopus as we entered Jerusalem. It the camp sight for the Roman Tenth Legion, the same legion that sacked Jerusalem, Gamla and Masada. The experience was as profound as visiting Gettysburg or Waterloo. Our Palestinian extension was also exceptional. Our guide was Khalil Shreim, who was excellent. Our experience of attending Mass (at 6:00 AM) in the manger where Christ was born was emotional...just the priest and server, the two of us, two old Arab men, and six nuns. What an opportunity of a lifetime! We also met the "Good Samaritan." This was the senior priest from the 750 Samaritans who trace their line of ancestry to the original Samaritans. What a trip! What an adventure! Thanks, OAT! Bob & Rose Jordan
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Spouse/Partner

Real Affordable Peru

An amazing experience!

5   2 years ago
The Affordable Peru trip exceeded up all our expectations. We had never taken an organized tour so we were dubious about whether we would like it. Although we had expected Machu Picchu would be the highlight, it was but one of many highlights. The variety of experiences and places we visited gave us insight into the history, culture, and daily lives of the Peruvians both today and in the past. Beyond a doubt, the best part of our trip was our tour leader, Marco. He was detail-oriented, friendly, flexible and above all, knowledgeable. His ability to turn history into a story made the trip a joy. He was willing to listen to anything and to any answer any question. He understood multiple perspectives. His _discoveries? were fun and informative. We can?t say enough good the tour overall. We have already recommended it to friends and will readily take other OAT trips.
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Spouse/Partner

Crossroads of the Adriatic: Croatia, Montenegro, Bosnia & Herzegovina, and Slovenia

There's more than Dubrovnik

5   1 year ago
I selected this trip primarily to see Dubrovnik, which turned out to be a great experience with some memorable surprises like a Dali exhibit and the Dubrovnik String Quartet. However, Sarajevo and Zagreb also were fantastic cities with a fascinating mix of cultures. I was interested to learn about the cultures and the effects of the war and was gratified to learn much about both. The trip leader and the local guides were all excellent. My favorite place, much to my surprise as I knew nothing of it before, was Ljubljana, a small and walkable Prague. Looking back, the number of places we visited is astounding. Not only did we see the usual castles and old towns but we also had more exposure to the people, the culture, the geography, and contemporary life. I was surprised at how mountainous the region is, but also at how beautiful it is. As with all the OAT trips I've taken, I highly recommend this trip.
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Friends
1 to 10 of 992 reviews