Contact Us 1-800-955-1925
Overseas Adventure Travel Reviews The Leader in Small Groups on the Road Less Traveled
Overseas Adventure Travel Reviews
Overseas Adventure Travel Reviews
Learn about our trips from the best source—our Traveler Reviews!
There’s no better way to learn what a trip is like than from the firsthand experiences of fellow travelers—which is why we created Overseas Adventure Travel Reviews. Here, you can read unedited travel reviews, giving you an honest appraisal of the discoveries that await you on our unique small-group adventures. Overseas Adventure Travel (OAT) was founded in Cambridge, Massachusetts in 1978 by a 28-year old high school teacher named Judi Wineland, who was inspired by a trip to Africa. From the beginning, OAT offered custom small-group tours to destinations around the world. In 1993 OAT was purchased by the Grand Circle Corporation, becoming the first U.S. travel company to create, operate, and sell adventure trips to Americans aged 50 and over.

Overseas Adventure Travel Reviews

Average Rating
4.8   4.8 | 992 reviews
937 out of 992 (94%) reviewers would recommend Overseas Adventure Travel
Rating Breakdown
5 ★   842
4 ★   104
3 ★   19
2 ★   12
1 ★   15
Rating Summary
Accomodations   5
Food   4
Itinery   5
Trip Leader   5
Value   5
Recent Reviews

Ultimate Africa: Botswana, Zambia & Zimbabwe Safari

As expected -- Excellent trip.

5   1 year ago
We have always heard that the OATS trips are both economical, relatively speaking, and well run. I think our August/September 2016 Ultimate Africa trip was indeed that. From arrival in Joburg to departure from there, including the 4 day side trip to Capetown, we were attended to with professional courtesy and knowledgeable competence by all of the staff, including Champion our leader, and all of the staff and guides at each camp. So, whether we were in Chobe National Park (Botswana), the Okavanga Delta (Botswana) and Park, Kafue National Park (Zambia), Victoria Falls and Hwange National Park (Zimbabwe), or traipsing around Capetown and its wineries and sites, we were attended to, led and served by highly competent people. It is rather amazing how a company can coordinate our group of 14 friends and friends of friends into such a pleasant experience. It can be tiring moving from camp to camp by air, by boat, by bus and Landcruisers, but it was accomplished with almost no blips in performance. My wife, Pat, and I were both very pleased with the entire trip. One minor blip was a missed flight because of mechanical issues in Victoria Falls, but we taken care of and moved on into balance of the trip. It cannot be possible to have a trip with so many elderly people (I think 67 was the youngest of 14) and not have some issues. Ours were so minor, it is nice to look back at the positive overall experience. If I would have one suggestion -- in Hwange, try to keep the camp at the Makavolo water hole. It was one of the more enjoyable camps -- lions, including Cecil the lion's son, were frighteningly close to our camp at night -- it made that particular camp come alive. I'd hate to see the trip changed to save a few bucks, to another site. While the camp was excellent, including service, staff and food, it might be fun to consider a camp in the Okavonga Delta more northward in the camp, for the future.
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Extended Family

Ancient Kingdoms: Thailand, Laos, Vietnam & Cambodia

A super trip

5   12 months ago
I will not rehash what so many other reviewers have written. Almost to a person they loved this trip as much as we did. The sites, food, adventures, and experiences were, as usual for OAT, top-notch. We would be remiss if we didn't single out the fabulous trip leader, Natalie. The same is true for the wonderful local guides. These individuals made this trip super special. Natalie was absolutely marvelous. She is very knowledgeable and communicates her knowledge with assuredness. She is so very helpful to all travelers' needs. She is a problem solver. I could go on and on about this trip leader. Suffice to say she is the best and anyone who takes this trip should consider themselves fortunate if they have Natalie as their leader. I heartily recommend this trip for anyone who wants to experience some of the wonders of S E Asia. The ancient temples are worthy of world "wonder" status. The food was generally delicious...even the river snake I tried. The hotels were good and reflected the localities. The visit to the local school was really special. The children were beautiful and wonderful. One of our fellow travelers was a vet who served in Vietnam. He speaks and writes several Asian languages. The children were impressed when he wrote messages on the blackboard in their language. One of our local guides spontaneously arranged for us to attend a wedding. It was quite an experience. The floating market was eye opening...as was the mangrove forest and the innumerable monkeys who come right up to (and into) the boats. I was impressed by the thousand Buddha cave. I was also moved by the tour of the killing fields and Khmer prisons in Cambodia (so sad), as well as the Cu Chi Tunnels in Vietnam. The visit to the women's work shops and market was eye opening. The Hmong home visit was eye opening as well. The visit to the dancing school was great fun as we tried to dance to local customs. The home hosted meal was educational and entertaining and a chance to learn more about others' cultures. The water puppet show was very unusual and super entertaining. The rides in various boats, tuk tuks, rickshaws, and so on were so much fun. One gets a feeling for how such thick traffic moves without accidents. Amazing. Enough already. This was a special trip made more so by the local guides and the amazing trip leader Natalie.
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Spouse/Partner

Sicily's Ancient Landscapes & Timeless Traditions

Maybe out best trip ever

5   1 year ago
Sicily is beautiful, historic and enjoyable to visit. Our guide, Maurizo Caminita, was superb. His knowledge and enthusiasm for his country were infectious. We travel with OAT mostly because of the quality of the trip leaders. Maurizo may well be the best in a long line of excellent OAT tour leaders we have experienced. And the Sicilian food was wonderful - a bit different from Northern Italian - and a great surprise.
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Spouse/Partner

NEW! Southern Africa: South Africa, Zimbabwe, Namibia & Botswana

Our best trip EVAH!

5   1 year ago
We have been on many, many GC/OAT trips, but this was was the best! The animals, the game drives, the lodgings, food, and experiences were superb. Our trip leader, Naume, was wonderful. Lots of happiness, dancing, singing, and cultural interaction.
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Spouse/Partner

Morocco Sahara Odyssey

AZZA

5   1 year ago
POST TRIP GROUP...SUSAN/ JANE /CHARLENE /RICK /LYDIA AND ME
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Solo Traveler by Myself

The Best of Kenya & Tanzania

You have got to take this trip!

5   1 year ago
This was our 11th trip with OAT/GCT. We have been to China, India, Vietnam, Thailand, Cambodia, Peru, Egypt and much more. Each trip has been excellent and memorable. But, The Best of Kenya & Tanzania was absolutely awesome. Our guides said that we were extremely fortunate to see all the things we did. We went during September 2015, at the end of the dry season. It is usually hot. But our weather was very pleasant and somewhat overcast so the animals were very active. We saw lions and cheetahs hunting and lions, cheetahs, hyenas and buzzards eating. Saw prides of up to 15 lions walk right by our range rover. All kinds of animals were so close we could have reached out and touched them. The interactions with the several tribes we visited were great. The Day In The Life with the Maasai took the whole morning and was up close and personal. The ladies got to milk a goat, mend a house with cow dung, while the men tried to start a fire by rubbing sticks together. We danced and jumped and laughed together. What a great time. If you have always wanted to go on safari and see Africa, sign up and go with OAT. You won't regret it. You may not be as lucky as we were to see 54 lions in one day, or 4 leopards or a dozen cheetahs, but you will have what for us was the trip of a lifetime.
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Spouse/Partner

Israel: The Holy Land & Timeless Cultures

Amazing Adventure

5   2 years ago
From Tel Aviv through Haifa & Nazareth on to Jerusalem, we saw many interesting & beautiful sights. There is so much history to see with artifacts, excavations and rebuilt models. It was one of the best trips I've taken with OAT. Be careful at the Dead Sea, though. Learn about it. I almost drowned there. Thanks to two lifeguards, I was helicoptered to the nearest hospital and recovered the next day. Jill Applebaum
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Solo Traveler by Myself

Machu Picchu & the Gal?pagos

AMAZING PRE, POST, AND MAIN TRIP

5   2 years ago
AMAZON PRE TRIP WAS SO UNIQUE ARRIVING AT THE LODGE BY BOAT .. VILLAGE AND DRS OFFICE WERE SO REMOTE, AND SEEING CHILDREN WHO HAVE HARDLY ANYTHING BE SO HAPPY AND FRIENDLY.. MACHU PICHU WAS AN AMAZING ADVENTURE TO CLIMB, AND WITNESS HOW THE AZTECS BUILT THERE CITIES.. EDGAR HERNANDEZ OUR GUIDE WAS TERRIFIC, HE WAS ALWAYS THERE TO SEE THAT YOUR EVERY NEED WAS MET.. HE WAS TRULY 24-7. THE GALAPAGOS ISLANDS WERE ALL DIFFERENT, AND WE SAW SO MANY UNIQUE ANIMALS, UNLIKE ANYWHERE ELSE IN THE WORLD..THE FRIGATES NESTING GROUNDS, THE BLUE FOOTED BOOBIES, FANTASTIC.. OH YES AND LETS NOT FORGET THE GIANT TORTOISES EVERYWHERE.. THE PANDA LANDINGS WERE FUN, AND THE SWIM IN THE OCEAN WAS SO BEAUTFUL.... THE POST TRIP WITH ALL THE VOLCANOES, AND MOUNTAINS OF ECUADOR WAS BREATH TAKING, AND THE CHURCHES TRULY BEAUTIFUL... ALL THE FOOD WAS WONDERFUL, AND SO DELICIOUS.. ALL THE GUIDES WERE SO KNOWLEDGEABLE... TAKE THIS TRIP YOU WONT BE DISAPPOINTED....
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Spouse/Partner

Turkey's Magical Hideaways

Turkey's Magical Hideaways, up close and friendly

5   1 year ago
Our trip was steeped in history and our guide knew his history so well and communicated with us clearly. The variety of places that we visited was amazing. From Istanbul to sailing on the Turquoise Coast to seeing Rumi's tomb, to flying in a hot air balloon at sunrise we were treated with a rich adventure
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Groups

Ancient Kingdoms: Thailand, Laos, Vietnam & Cambodia

Searching for Catholic Churches in Buddhist Countr

5   1 year ago
November 22, Bangkok, Thailand. I was able to go to 5:00 pm Mass at the Church of the Redeemer. The Mass was in English. To get to the church, I rode a motorcycle taxi! The driver dropped me off then came back for me at the end of Mass. I gave 10 rosaries to the priest who celebrated Mass. November 24, Luang Prabang, Laos. Today was the Feast of the Vietnamese Martyrs. I was wishing I was in Vietnam to celebrate it! Our guide took me to a _Catholic? Church but when he introduced me to the priest?s wife, I figured out it was Christian, not Catholic. There was a cross but no crucifix and no altar. The wife said they had had a large celebration on Sunday with many westerners. November 27, Vientiane, Laos. I visited the Cathedral of the Sacred Heart. I had to look quite a while to find an open door. No one was in the church. I said a few prayers and then found a statue of the Blessed Virgin with a plastic rosary in her hands (similar to the ones I brought.) I left 20 rosaries on the shelf at her feet. November 29, Phnom Penh, Cambodia. I took a remok (similar to a tuk tuk) to St. Joseph Church for the 4:00 pm Mass. Going to Mass here was special as my father?s name was Joseph and today was his birthday. Mass was in a large chapel on the second floor. The floor was covered with woven mats; we removed our shoes before entering, then sat on the floor. The priest, a young man, sat on a chair all during Mass except for the Consecration. The choir was very nice with an electronic keyboard accompaniment. This Mass was in Khmer (the official language of Cambodia). When I first entered the chapel, there were few people there. I gave 10 rosaries to a little lady who was saying the rosary and tried to indicate that she was to give them away. Later three Missionary of Charity sisters (Mother Teresa?s community) came in and another sister whose habit I did not recognize. Many people came to the Mass. December 6, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam. I walked to the Cathedral of Notre Dame for the 9:30 am Mass. I arrived early and witnessed the baptism of about 10 babies and small children. Mass was concelebrated in English by three priests, one of whom was from Orange County, California. The other two were Vietnamese. I gave 10 rosaries to the celebrant, a Vietnamese priest. In our drives through the city and out into the country side, we saw many large churches. Reflections. What was interesting to me was that these were countries where 80% or more of the population are Buddhist, and maybe 1-2% are Christian. And Cambodia and Vietnam are Communist countries! In all the Masses I attended, the churches were full, and the people ranged from babies and young people to middle-aged and elderly. Another thing I found interesting was that the churches contained statues of St. Joan of Arc and St. Ther_se, the Little Flower, probably reflecting the French influence in those countries. Catholicism seems to be alive and well.
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Groups
1 to 10 of 992 reviews