Contact Us 1-800-955-1925
Overseas Adventure Travel Reviews The Leader in Small Groups on the Road Less Traveled
Overseas Adventure Travel Reviews
Overseas Adventure Travel Reviews
Learn about our trips from the best source—our Traveler Reviews!
There’s no better way to learn what a trip is like than from the firsthand experiences of fellow travelers—which is why we created Overseas Adventure Travel Reviews. Here, you can read unedited travel reviews, giving you an honest appraisal of the discoveries that await you on our unique small-group adventures. Overseas Adventure Travel (OAT) was founded in Cambridge, Massachusetts in 1978 by a 28-year old high school teacher named Judi Wineland, who was inspired by a trip to Africa. From the beginning, OAT offered custom small-group tours to destinations around the world. In 1993 OAT was purchased by the Grand Circle Corporation, becoming the first U.S. travel company to create, operate, and sell adventure trips to Americans aged 50 and over.

Overseas Adventure Travel Reviews

Average Rating
4.8   4.8 | 992 reviews
937 out of 992 (94%) reviewers would recommend Overseas Adventure Travel
Rating Breakdown
5 ★   842
4 ★   104
3 ★   19
2 ★   12
1 ★   15
Rating Summary
Accomodations   5
Food   4
Itinery   5
Trip Leader   5
Value   5
Recent Reviews

Real Affordable Costa Rica

Did you ever rescue a sloth?

5   1 year ago
I I returned from this trip full of wonderful memories. Fellow travelers, tour guide Nestor Zeledon and our driver Frank, waking up to either the birds singing or monkeys howling, ziplining, lazy afternoon swims - this is just a sample of all the pleasures of this trip. It was just the right mixture of activities and down time to suit me perfectly. I did not miss lack of TV or wifi in the room or even AC - as a matter of fact, I was glad to be able to reconnect a little bit with a simpler way of life. I came home refreshed, relaxed, and ready for the next OAT adventure.
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Solo Traveler by Myself

Heart of India

Tips for OAT Heart of India travelers

5   1 year ago
Although this trip was fantastic and exceeded our expectations, other travelers have given highlights. but I would like to share five tips for future travelers. First, let me say that our group of 14 was most congenial and no one was ever late, which is important indeed.. The second point and probably the most important is that our program or tour director, Sanjay, was fantastic, spoke perfect English, did more than was expected, and anyone who has him as a leader will be most fortunate, although I understand all the directors are very good. My five top tips are as follows: 1. If at all possible, take a camera with at least 20 optical-40 digital zoom. You will need at least this much zoom to get good pictures of the tigers on your game drives, if you spot same. Fortunately our guide spotted two and I got good pictures with above zoom in a compact camera, although more zoom would have been even better 2. No matter how clear or hot, ALWAYS take at least a waterproof camera bag. It was quite sunny when we started our last safari, but fortunately I got good shots of the two tigers before the Hardest and quickest rain came and it shorted out my camera. 3. If you see something you want, buy it THEN (after bargaining, of course). It may well be it will never be available again. 4. On Hot Air balloon optional, I would recommend it especially if you have never been on one. Our pilot was good and the views were nice, but I would not rate it as one of the highlights of the trip. 5. On the optional hike to Rathambore Fort, take only if you are really in good physical shape. There are 360 steps (some about a foot high). The views are nice, and you see several wild animals up really close (especially peacocks and monkeys), but again not one of the highlights of the trip This learning adventure is one of the two best (other is Ultimate Africa) of 30 overseas trips (mostly with Grand Circle and OAT)I have been on. I highly recommend it. If you do have a question about any of the above or anything else, feel free to email me at rlmcknight@suddenlink.net and I will be glad to respond. Again, my thanks to my fellow travelers and to Sanjay for making this a wonderful experience I will never forget.
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Friends

Java & Bali: Indonesia's Mystical Islands

Everything Wonderful

5   9 months ago
Can't understand any of the negative reviews of this trip, because I thought it was outstanding. Although my first OAT trip, I will be looking for others. Great guides--especially tour leader Roy and Bali local guide Walika, who competently looked after minor problems as they arose, and were willing to discuss every aspect of life in Indonesia. Everyone we met casually or in groups on either island was welcoming and gracious (and the children were always overjoyed). Majority of the meals were excellent--I only quibble about one "too American" meal in Yogya. The small number of meals "on your own" went well, thanks to recommendations. Even the day on my own before the rest of the group arrived, self-researched meals were wonderful. Before the trip, I had doubts about personal security, they evaporated once I was there. The tour companions were all interesting and great to be with. Even hotel laundry was generally cheap enough to avoid most of those night-time chores. Yes, Jakarta is not a real tourist destination, and I tried wandering on my own before the trip without a lot of success. But once the tour started, things brightened up, and it was a joy. Itinerary in Yogya was well-paced, with temple visits, not-too-aggressive mountain hikes, home handicraft workers, and wonderful home visit with Joko and family. Bali was superb, with outstanding hotels, meals, wanderings, and shopping. Originally the itinerary seemed to have too many "on your own" times, but the guides filled those times for those who wanted more, so I even had little time to write home. Spontaneous stops that are only possible with small groups were always fun and enlightening.
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Solo Traveler by Myself

Real Affordable Peru

A fascinating adventure

5   1 year ago
Went on my first OAT adventure, Real Affordable Peru, last month and the trip exceeded my expectations in every way. The itinerary was extremely thorough and well planned, and we had the perfect guide - Uriel Torres. Every aspect of the trip - hotels, meals, inclusions, extra activities - was perfect. And the learning never stopped ! A wonderful and fun way to experience a country rich in history. The "day in the life" was a special treat.
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Solo Traveler by Myself

Real Affordable Costa Rica

Guatemala and Costa Rica

5   1 year ago
We had a great time last February. I especially loved Guatemala. Climbing pyramids in Tikal was a most unusual experience.
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Friends

Crossroads of the Adriatic: Croatia, Montenegro, Bosnia & Herzegovina, and Slovenia

Every day was a new adventure!

5   10 months ago
This was our first time traveling with OAT, but definitely not our last. Thank you Marko, our tour leader, for imparting a wealth of information while keeping our group laughing on a daily basis!! This tour provides a complete variety of landscapes and experiences - from the farmlands of Karanac to the sophisticated streets of Zagreb. We enjoyed the opportunity to truly understand the people and their history, not only on the home visits, but through the personal backgrounds of our local guides, each of whom came from the areas toured, thus providing their own perspectives.They all managed to make the tours not only educational, but just plain fun!
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Spouse/Partner

Safari Serengeti: Tanzania Lodge & Tented Safari

Ultimate migration photography!

5   7 months ago
This trip was an awesome experience for me! The guides were knowledgeable & experienced, the food & accomodations were excellent, the photographic opportunity of wildlife and unique landscapes was wonderful. I look forward to my next O.A.T.adventure!
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Solo Traveler by Myself

Discover Thailand

Discover Thailand!

5   12 months ago
This trip did not disappoint! I learned so much and especially enjoyed being involved in the lives and culture of Thai People.
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Solo Traveler by Myself

Israel: The Holy Land & Timeless Cultures

The Trip of a Lifetime

5   1 year ago
We've been all over the world on lots of tours -- nothing comes even close to this tour of Israel. You will not believe the spiritual energy in Israel. I'm not religious and I was awestruck by the powerful sites all over Israel. Our guide Ishah was fantastic in his dedicated attention to everyone on the tour, even people who were somewhat annoying.
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Spouse/Partner

Inside Vietnam

Excellent Trip

4   2 years ago
This was an excellent trip. I added to it by getting to Hanoi four days before our group. A week in Hanoi isn't too much at all if you want to take in various museums in addition to what OAT shows you. You will however, be confronted with the fact they had both a war and a revolutionary past. I enjoyed learning about the Vietnam/American war from their perspective, and enjoyed both the war museums in both Hanoi and Saigon. They have very different presentations, and one is not necessarily better than the other. Our trip seemed to have interactions with locals nearly every day, sometimes to the exclusion of seeing sights. While this was interesting, it got weary. Our leader David recounted all of them at the end, and I counted 11 in 18 days (including the three from the optional tours). I would prefer to have some locals mixed in with my sightseeing rather than the other way around. In Hue for instance, we skipped important sights to meet with even more locals. However, as we left Hanoi we stopped by David's house and met his family. His neighbors were having an engagement party, and we vwere all invited into the home of the bride to be and her family. They were all wearing red, and welcomed us into their home openly. It was quite an experience! If you have any problems at all with fish, go for substitutes. I have a shell fish allergy, so I avoided shell fish and other types of fish (like the constantly served calamari). However, I was told the fish sauce was just fish, and I got extremely sick on the junk in Halong Bay not long after lunch. It was more like an oyster reaction, and the pedeolyte I travel with was back on the bus. I was the only one who got sick. The food on the trip overall was excellent. With the exception of the obvious food reaction I had, I loved the food on the entire trip Hotels were all four star with spacious rooms and pretty good WiFi service. The hotel in Hoi An was by far the most charming. Treat yourself and go to Siem Reap even if the tour does not. I did it on my own and was delighted at how charming it was.
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Solo Traveler by Myself
1 to 10 of 992 reviews