Contact Us 1-800-955-1925
Overseas Adventure Travel Reviews The Leader in Small Groups on the Road Less Traveled
Overseas Adventure Travel Reviews
Overseas Adventure Travel Reviews
Learn about our trips from the best source—our Traveler Reviews!
There’s no better way to learn what a trip is like than from the firsthand experiences of fellow travelers—which is why we created Overseas Adventure Travel Reviews. Here, you can read unedited travel reviews, giving you an honest appraisal of the discoveries that await you on our unique small-group adventures. Overseas Adventure Travel (OAT) was founded in Cambridge, Massachusetts in 1978 by a 28-year old high school teacher named Judi Wineland, who was inspired by a trip to Africa. From the beginning, OAT offered custom small-group tours to destinations around the world. In 1993 OAT was purchased by the Grand Circle Corporation, becoming the first U.S. travel company to create, operate, and sell adventure trips to Americans aged 50 and over.

Overseas Adventure Travel Reviews

Average Rating
4.8   4.8 | 992 reviews
937 out of 992 (94%) reviewers would recommend Overseas Adventure Travel
Rating Breakdown
5 ★   842
4 ★   104
3 ★   19
2 ★   12
1 ★   15
Rating Summary
Accomodations   5
Food   4
Itinery   5
Trip Leader   5
Value   5
Recent Reviews

Crossroads of the Adriatic: Croatia, Montenegro, Bosnia & Herzegovina, and Slovenia

Our "bucket list" adventure to the Adriatic

5   1 year ago
We just returned from the most wonderful trip. Completely unexpected, as are most of our OAT trips. We always say this was the best trip ever, and it was. We enjoyed the people, the cities, the sights and of coarse our OAT leaders. Never touch your bags and never do without an air conditioned bus and driver. What a great way to travel. We just love it.
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Friends

Japan's Cultural Treasures

Amazing Country

4   1 year ago
This was my sixth OAT trip. I traveled in August so take this into consideration when reading this review. As said by others in their reviews, Japan is really an amazing country with WONDERFUL people! I could not get over how clean and safe everything was. It is definitely a country that I would visit again in the future. We saw immaculate cities, pristine countryside and beautiful forests in the mountains. Here are some highlights and tips: -I arrived in Tokyo 3 days early to spend some time on my own and it was well worth it. I hired a private guide from Tripadvisor on the first day and she showed me how to use the subways which are the best way to get around. During my free time, I visited the EDO museum and also took a Viator tour to Nikko. These are both 'must sees' in my opinion. I used a Tokyo subway app on my iphone to figure out which routes to take and if I became confused, people at the subway stations were kind enough to help. -WEATHER. Hot, humid with frequent rain but the rain would keep the heat down. Umbrellas in August are a must and it was unfortunately rainy and cloudy on Mt Fuji. -PACE. There is a LOT of walking on this trip. Be prepared to walk an average of 5-6 miles almost every day at a fast pace. Some people had a hard time keeping up with the guide and it was very hot. There were few bathroom breaks so go when you can. In addition...TAKE SNACKS and WATER. Some days, we did not eat lunch until almost 2 pm after eating breakfast at 7AM and walking for hours.. -ACCOMODATIONS. Hotels were all centrally located and clean/comfortable. Some of the rooms were small but OK for a solo traveler. All the hotels had mini fridges and hair dryers in the rooms. The Monterey Hanzomon is located in the center of Tokyo and it has a subway station right across the street. I LOVED the Ryokan in Hakone but unfortunately we were told it is closing due to a bad economy there. -ITINERARY. Excellent! My favorite part was the experience at the Ryokan in Hakone along with the open air museum there and riding the bullet train. The Geisha house visit in Kanazawa was so interesting! -FOOD. I was not crazy about the "traditional Japanese" food and found it different then the Japanese food in the US which I enjoy. OAT needs to change the Ginza restaurant where we had dinner and the Kyoto restaurant on the last night. The food was pretty bad in those two spots. We did have other types of food such as Italian and the hotels all had American breakfasts in addition to Japanese. During our free time, our TL recommended some excellent places for us to eat near our hotels. If you are interested in seeing my pictures, you can find them at atravelingwoman.tumblr.com
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Solo Traveler by Myself

Safari Serengeti: Tanzania Lodge & Tented Safari

Utopia in the Serengeti & Kilimanjaro

5   1 year ago
Both our Kilimanjaro pretrip & our Serengeti Tented trip exceeded our expectations in regards to the wildlife we encountered, the information disseminated by our guides, and our accommodations/food. We had heard what a wonderful trip this would be, but the accolades were not sufficient to describe how great a trip this was.
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Spouse/Partner

Australia & New Zealand: An Adventure Down Under

OAT's "Down Under" #1 on bucket list-finished

5   1 year ago
New Zealand- everything is beautiful. N./Z. has everything in a small area-beaches, forests, scenic roads, scenic mountains, people, parks. Australia- big and beautiful, Sydney is a most beautiful city.
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Solo Traveler by Myself

The Baltic Capitals & St. Petersburg

Pick anothet travel company, not OAT

1   1 year ago
I had a good trip only thanks to "lucking" out and getting a good Team Leader. It appears to me that the rest of the OAT staff in Vilnius, the Senior staff from around the Europe region, and the HQ staff could care less about providing service. OAT booked my flight, lost my luggage for a week, and aside from the Team Leader no one seemed to care or provide any help. I was wearing borrowed clothes from my fellow travelers, and hearing worthless excuses from the rest of the OAT staff. If you luck out and get a good Team Leader you will have a good trip, but the other 10-15 senior OAT staff had no interest in helping or providing service, but they would have been glad to sell me another trip. No thanks. Find another travel agency.
✘ No, I do not recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Solo Traveler by Myself

Turkey's Magical Hideaways

truly magical

5   1 year ago
My husband and I thought nothing could beat the serengetti but this was right up there. We saw so many different sites and learned about the history from our wonderful trip leader, Ersin. His suggestions for our free time were magical.. If you have a chance to have a turkish bath,do it only 30 dollars. He arranged for the opportunity to see a ballet in Aspendos open theater built in 137AD. The gullet was so relaxing with swimming everyday. Istanbul views were so memorable. I counted 16 tickets for the different places we went. Oh Cappadocia! the ballon ride magical.. the caves, hotel, hikes: there is just too much ....Ersin's learn and discovery stops were so informative, such as seeing people making molasses from grape juice-no sugar, eating always at local venues, trying and enjoying turkish ice cream -made from goat's milk. The people of Turkey are very friendly and proud of their country. We felt save the entire time.Walking sticks were beneficial for hikes. Water bottles not necessary.
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Spouse/Partner

Pure New Zealand

A truly grand adventure

5   12 months ago
We wanted to see as much of New Zealand as possible ... our expectations were exceeded by a large margin as the tour took us to the most wonderfully diverse places we could imagine. We really feel like we got a great overview of this country.
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Spouse/Partner

Crossroads of the Adriatic: Croatia, Montenegro, Bosnia & Herzegovina, and Slovenia

Great trip to the Adriatic

5   1 year ago
We had an outstanding trip to the Adriatic and a terrific guide, Amar. In addition to the regular itinerary, Amar had lots of extra suggestions for evening concerts, etc. It was definitely one of our top trips. We took the post trip to Budapest which has an incredible number of museums and galleries. We found we had lots of free time without the guidance we expected from OAT. Definitely buy a Budapest guide, check the websites, talk to the hotel desk clerks, and consider a Hop ON/Hop Off tour. Also price the optional tour at the hotel desk since without lunch, it is considerable cheaper than the one offered by OAT.
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Spouse/Partner

Morocco Sahara Odyssey

Morocco, A Land Of Mystery Revealed

5   2 years ago
Moat Americans learn little about Morocco in school, or otherwise. Our trip to this mystical country educated us about its complicated history, the expanse of its landscape and the beauty of its people. From the nomadic Berber herdsmen to the modern city dwellers we gained insight into the broad range of lifestyles still existing there. From the seashore to the sand dunes we learned how this ancient nation is transitioning from its turbulent past to peaceful development. A trip not to be missed!
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Extended Family

Sicily's Ancient Landscapes & Timeless Traditions

Outstanding Sicily

5   10 months ago
We had done a similar trip with another company about 8 years ago and realized we needed to go back at a slower pace to really "see and feel" Sicily and our Oat trip did just that. We can't express how happy we are that we made the decision to repeat the trip. Sights and places we visited the first time were nothing compared to the extended time and in depth knowledge we received from our Oat guides. In addition, we went to out of the way places, restaurants, and excursions that we did not get to do on the other trip, as only Oat can do. It was 3 weeks of pure fun. If you want to really "see" Sicily, learn about the culture, live with Sicilians, eat authentic food, and enjoy being with Sicilian guides this is the trip for you.
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Spouse/Partner
1 to 10 of 992 reviews