Contact Us 1-800-955-1925
Overseas Adventure Travel Reviews The Leader in Small Groups on the Road Less Traveled
Overseas Adventure Travel Reviews
Overseas Adventure Travel Reviews
Learn about our trips from the best source—our Traveler Reviews!
There’s no better way to learn what a trip is like than from the firsthand experiences of fellow travelers—which is why we created Overseas Adventure Travel Reviews. Here, you can read unedited travel reviews, giving you an honest appraisal of the discoveries that await you on our unique small-group adventures. Overseas Adventure Travel (OAT) was founded in Cambridge, Massachusetts in 1978 by a 28-year old high school teacher named Judi Wineland, who was inspired by a trip to Africa. From the beginning, OAT offered custom small-group tours to destinations around the world. In 1993 OAT was purchased by the Grand Circle Corporation, becoming the first U.S. travel company to create, operate, and sell adventure trips to Americans aged 50 and over.

Overseas Adventure Travel Reviews

Average Rating
4.8   4.8 | 992 reviews
937 out of 992 (94%) reviewers would recommend Overseas Adventure Travel
Rating Breakdown
5 ★   842
4 ★   104
3 ★   19
2 ★   12
1 ★   15
Rating Summary
Accomodations   5
Food   4
Itinery   5
Trip Leader   5
Value   5
Recent Reviews

Safari Serengeti: Tanzania Lodge & Tented Safari

Wondrous Adventure

5   2 years ago
I was new to Africa and to OAT so I was unsure what to expect, but the fun and WOW factor of this trip was better than I could imagine. The trip leader and guides were terrific. They were friendly and fun and they worked hard to ensure that we saw and could photograph everything we wanted to. Their knowledge of the flora and fauna was extensive and they seemed happy (even anxious) to explain the unusual things we were seeing. They knew the vehicles and roads and the drives through the country were exciting and fun. The lodges were very comfortable with beautiful gardens, beautiful views and an adventurous colonial feel. The food was good and the service very good. It was fun to interact with the local village, the schoolchildren and to shop in the local markets. We were able to learn a lot about Tanzanian lifestyle and culture. We also made some good new friends among the locals and the other clients. It's hard to believe that every day could be better than the day before it, but that is definitely the impression that I carried home with me. It was a fantastic overseas adventure!!
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Extended Family

Ultimate Africa: Botswana, Zambia & Zimbabwe Safari

I'D GO AGAIN!

5   2 years ago
The most important thing to remember: this is not a leisure cruise - it's rigorous. But there is no other way you can see wildlife in such proximity and in such variety. OAT performed with great skill in moving 16 people to 4 different camps. The accomodations, while not luxurious, are absolutely acceptable and very comfortable for a trip of this type. Who could complain: there was electricity, a toilet, and a hot shower in every tent - and this in the outback miles away from anything. Similarly, the food at the camps is plentiful and tasty - comforting and satisfying. Here are my tips: 1. Don't bring shampoo unless you have a specific type you want. It's always available. 2. Unless you have a physical requirement, the padded seats on the vehicles are sufficient so you don't need to bring an extra cushion. 3. Every vehicle has ponchos for the chilly morning drives. Unless you're fussy about clothing, no need to bring an extra warm jacket. 4. EYE PROTECTION - e.g. sunglasses - is absotely essential. 5. Ulimtately, I preferred a baseball cap to a safari hat as it was easier to wear if I kept my neck covered. 6. Get the best possible binoculars that you can - even sacrificing weight in exchange for resolution and distance. 7. Bring a pad of papper with you on the vehicle and write down each animal you see as you see it - otherwise you won't remember most of them. Also, doing this will help identify your pictures later. 8. Do not bring a clothesline or soap for rinsing out clothes - they'll be provided. 9. You'll want a really good camera. Be certain, if getting a new one, to become really familiar with it before you go. The important details are to find one that focusses easily and, if a zoom, operates quickly and quietly. 10. Self evident, but if you're like me, you'll want to remember to ALWAYS bring extra batteries with you on each game drive (no matter how short), having charged them up the night before. 11. If you're a reader like I am, bring about 6 books, and leave each one behind as you finish it. 12. After you've packed, toss out 1/3 of your clothes. The trip is not that long such that wearing something several times will harm you - and, washing things out in each tent means you can carry less. While it's true OAT provides portage, you'll still be dragging your bag through airports AND you want room for souvenirs.
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Solo Traveler by Myself

NEW! Tuscany & Umbria: Rustic Beauty in the Italian Heartland

Stimulating and rewarding trip

5   2 years ago
This is our first trip with OAT and we were pleased with the lovely selection of hotels and restaurants. Our tour guide, Martina, made our whole trip a special experience. Our traveling group, none of whom we had ever met, were friendly and wonderful partners in this new adventure. We toured out of the way places we never would have found and we feel we have a better understanding of the areas we visited and the culture we shared. We are now fans of escorted travel.....leave the driving and the baggage handling to professionals while you just enjoy and savor the experience.
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Spouse/Partner

Real Affordable Costa Rica

Disappointing All Around

2   2 years ago
This was our fifth OAT trip so we had high expectations. Two of the hotels were depressing: OK looking from the outside but depressing inside. The others were acceptable as we know the high standards OAT sets and that we had on our other trips even in primitive surroundings. The Studio Hotel on both ends of the trip was fantastic. Buena Vista Lodge casitas were quite nice but I was terribly depressed at the condition of the horses. Their ribs and backbones were showing. Our bus driver was assigned to go along with us in a small group and his macho riding skills put our group in danger. (I am involved in equine rescue and have been riding for at least forty years.) I have reported this to OAT and to the Costa Rica Humane Society. The short horseback ride was treacherous for horse and unexperienced riders. I cried when we left those noble beasts. Most meals were adequate as there was always fruit and some vegetables plus the ever present rice and beans. We welcomed the meals in the restaurants. When it rains the birds and animals do not appear. No one can control the weather but we paid extra to go in the dry season and it rains on one of the coasts no matter the season. I hardly think standing on a busy highway bridge to look down on a river bank where several crocodiles and rubber tires were located was a worthwhile learning or discovery. We saw almost no birds and the three sloths we saw were in trees in parking lots : one a lunch stop and the other at a Mercado! I felt like our trip leader was hoping to show us something worthwhile and I think he felt a bit of pressure to do so. Our extra walks produced little wildlife. Our good friends accompanied us again, this being our third OAT trip together. We kept saying that we hoped the next afternoon or the next morning would be better-we so wanted to be optimistic. It was different but not better. Several of our traveling companions (almost every person was delightful and good travelers) were first time OAT folks and two of them said they would not travel with OAT again. We kept defending the company and tried to let them know that this trip was not typical. The home visit was a disaster. Six of us went to one student's home where I was the only one who could speak some Spanish and the mom and dad spoke no English. The young student kept her nose and attention on her phone. One and a half hours was excruciatingly painful. So dear readers, if you love animals go to Africa to see big game. On this trip birds were elusive, rain forest river trips were somewhat boring when the guide's English was poor, and too much is left to chance. I am glad that some folks had great trips as I read the reviews. I think Costa Rica has done a great job of marketing-if one goes to a resort the atmosphere will be like Mexico or the Caribbean. I hope we are not jaded by our fantastic OAT adventures in Africa, India, Turkey of Peru/Equador. In summary, the OAT brochure and trip descriptions did not match our experiences. We are still planning more OAT trips!
✘ No, I do not recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Spouse/Partner

Morocco Sahara Odyssey

memorable morocco

5   2 years ago
Sure, it was very hot and sometimes I was very tired, but I never regretted being there--and now that I am home I am even more grateful that I was able to have the unforgettable experience. Our guide was excellent, the people were so friendly, the vistas fantastic, and I learned so much.
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Solo Traveler by Myself

Morocco Sahara Odyssey

Trip of a lifetime!

5   2 years ago
This trip was amazing!! What made it amazing? Our trip leader Idris!! OAT planned for great places for us to stay including Riads, Kasbahs, tents, and hotels. we were kept busy, but could have free time if we wanted it. A couple of the bus rides are long, but it's the only way to cover the country. We stopped several times on the long rides, explored and had mint tea. Let the bus rides be part of the adventure! I have to say that our guide, Idris, made the trip extra special! He was so intelligent, kind and caring, going above and beyond to make all 16 of us happy. It was my first OAT trip and it's far more than a sightseeing excursion! I learned so much about Morocco, it's religions, it's customs, culture, and the wonderful history behind it all. I made some great new friends and enjoyed amazing conversations. Morocco has been on my bucket list for 40 years, I'm glad I waited for OAT and Idris!!
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Friends

Route of the Maya

Guide Richard Chang

5   1 year ago
I met my wife in Vietnam during the war in 1968. Since that time we have been fortunate to work for the DOD in Europe, which afforded many opportunities to travel to many countries. Most was done on our own, but since 2000 we have traveled with several tour companies. Our company of choice has become OAT. I have never written a review of any of the trips - I leave that to my wife. But after this last trip (The Route of the Maya), a repeat trip for us (2011 and 2016), I feel that I must take the time to make a few comments. Of all our OAT adventures, I can only recall 2 other group leaders who were in my opinion beyond outstanding. All the others were excellent except for two disappointments (both GC). On this latest trip our tour leader, Richard Chang, was the rare outstanding exception. Not only did we learn many new things on this repeat trip, but we were afforded glimpses into the Mayan culture that were not scheduled in the program book. Every day we had 2 or 3 additional discoveries. All were noteworthy; however, the visit to the children's symphony orchestra in a small Mayan village - 5 year-old students learning the violin - was amazing.....something my wife and I will never forget - something that should be shared with the world! I have celiac disease and Richard looked out for my diet and health all of the time. He is extremely intelligent, a great tour leader and manager, and is very dedicated to his work. You are very fortunate to have a rare talent like Richard Chang as a part of the OAT team. He will be a hard act to follow. Thank you Richard and your lovely wife, and of course OAT for providing us with this opportunity.
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Spouse/Partner

Crossroads of the Adriatic: Croatia, Montenegro, Bosnia & Herzegovina, and Slovenia

Historic Balkans Explained by Dynamic Trip Leader

5   2 years ago
Our trip leader, Mateja, explained the complexities of the Balkan states beginning with Hapsburgs and Ottomans and ending with the breakup of Yugoslavia during the Homelands War of 1992-1996. All of this while walking through historic cities of Drubrovnik, Kotor, Sarejevo, Zagreb, and Ljubljana. You really begin to understand the turmoil of different religions and politics as you stand on the spot where WW1 began and walk through the Tunnel of Hope, built to endure the 2 year siege of Sarajevo by the Yugoslavian Army. The very serious military aspects are off set by travel to beautiful natural landscapes of Plitvice Lakes, overnighting in a farming village, boarding a pletna boat to an island church where we rang a bell to make our wish come true, and ambling through the stalagmites of Postojna Caves. Both Drubrovnik and Ljubljana are stunning red roofed cities with narrow cobblestone lanes. A visit to Tito's home village of Kumrovec opens up a new view of his goals for Yugoslavia, and you wonder what Yugoslavia would be like if he hadn't died in 1980. Above all, we appreciated Mateja's clarifying responses to our questions about the difference between Tito's socialism and Stalin's communism; why Slovenia and Croatia are members of the European Union while Montenegro and Bosnia-Herzegovina aren't; how the religious differences of Orthodix Serbs, Roman Catholics, and Muslims resulted in war. An added joy was the food and hospitality of the local people.Our Muslim Serejavo home hosts presented us with local specialties along with description of their daily work/student lives. We arrived home with souvenirs of gingerbread hearts, blueberry brandy, fig cakes, and strawberry jam!.
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Spouse/Partner

Safari Serengeti: Tanzania Lodge & Tented Safari

Return from Sarengeti

4   2 years ago
We went last September and enjoyed this trip very much. My husband had the best time of his life, enjoyed every minute of his first trip with OAT. I was on my 3rd OAT trip and enjoyed most of it. I did experience days that were too long on safari but the guides were fabulous and the other travelers fun. The first night's tent left a bit to be desired (not nearly as nice as in India). A fan and some hooks on the walls would have helped. All of the hotels ranged from good to excellent. The food was geared for western taste, I found it to be plentiful but mediocre. For me, once I saw 20,000 zebras I did not feel the need to stop and take more pictures of the next 20,000. But, some did. Still, I am very glad I went and treasure the memories of the school & Masai village visits. Fabulous!
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Spouse/Partner

Israel: The Holy Land & Timeless Cultures

Great Safe Trip

5   2 years ago
Our OAT Israel: the Holy Land and Timeless Cultures trip in April/ May 2015 included both the pre-trip to Jordan and the post-trip to the Palestinian Territories. This was our fifth trip with OAT/GCT/GCL. We highly recommend the Great Courses? lectures The Holy Land Revealed by UNC professor Jodi Magness to prepare for the trip. Jodi is an excellent lecturer with a passion for her subject. Since the lectures were recorded, she has published a book, The Archaeology of the Holy Land, which covers the same material in a little more depth. The pre-trip should not be missed. Petra was spectacular! Daoud our guide was very good and experienced. You need to be in good shape to get the full effect of Petra by walking the 3 miles in and 3 miles out. A walking stick would be helpful. There are carriages, horses, camels and donkeys available if you need them. We recommend reading Married to a Bedouin by Marguerite van Geldermalsen. I met Marguerite, who is originally from New Zealand, in Petra and bought the book from her. She is a very charming lady. When we got home, both my husband and I thoroughly enjoyed reading it. The book took us both back to Petra. Jerash and the wonderful lamb meals that Daoud arranged were other highlights of the pre-trip. Our group had no problems crossing the border at the Allenby Bridge from Jordan to Israel. The OAT Final Document Booklet gives good directions. We all stuck together and we designated one member as a leader for our group and a tall member for the last of the group. We were not required to fill out the customs form. Ofer our OAT Israeli Trip Leader was there to meet us and by the afternoon we were walking on the beach in Tel Aviv. Ofer was a wonderful guide. We have become use to very good guides with OAT, but Ofer is a cut above the rest. Throughout the trip he repeatedly used visual aids: maps, flipcharts, and a whiteboard to help us understand this very complicated and complex place. He was also excellent at arranging our schedule. We appreciated our free afternoon being scheduled after the morning trip to the Israel Museum to see the model of Jerusalem and the Dead Sea Scrolls. We did not have to pay an additional fee to stay and visit the rest of the marvelous museum collection in the afternoon. Ofer?s sense of humor made me feel very comfortable, relaxed and ready for the fun adventure we had. I think of him today and smile. Ali, our bus driver in Israel, was superb. Besides being an excellent bus driver, he is an amazing person. He interacted with the all the tour members: sharing himself, his sense of humor, and his Druze heritage. He was very patient as he helped me learn some Arabic words. We cherish the memory of being invited by Ali to dine on a delicious Arabic Salad he made at his cabin at Peace Lodge. What a wonderful conversation we had! The post-trip to the Palestinian Territories was an essential part of the trip for us. Nidal, our guide made us feel safe and aided our understanding of the area. Besides seeing many religious sites, we had a view from the other side of the Wall. We learned more about Areas A, B, and C. We learned about the diversity of Palestinians: Muslims, secular Muslims, Samaritans, Jewish Settlers, Bedouins, Armenians, and Christians, some of whom make the great Taybeh beer. Trip Highlights: ? Petra ? Making pita bread with Shosh at Yonay Olive Farm ? Shabbat at the Western Wall ? Visiting the Temple Mount ? The night view across the Sea of Galilee from the Golan Heights ? Hiking to the upper waterfall at Ein Gedi ? Floating in the Dead Sea ? Gaining a better understanding of the problems in this part of the world. ? The people Suggestions: ? Take hiking stick to Jerash, Petra, Ein Gedi, and Herodian. ? Bring hair dryer because they were not in our rooms at Peace Lodge or Jericho. Tips: ? Whoopi Pack - Put your clothes in Hefty Freezer Slider bags which come in quart, gallon and 2.5 gallon sizes, sit on them to remove the air and then close the slider. This protects your clothes from wrinkles and wet stuff. ? Hand Washing _ Lay your clothes on an XL Absorber. Roll them up in the Absorber as you would a towel to blot your clothes dry. Then wring out the Absorber to use it again or store it damp in a gallon Hefty slider bag. An Absorber is a synthetic chamois that you can find in the automotive section of Walmart or an auto parts store. It comes in three sizes. I have used this product for over 20 years as a personal towel when camping or boating. The secret is to KEEP IT CLEAN (rinse in hot water and it can be washed in a machine) AND DAMP in a gallon Hefty Slider bag. You can also cut it into smaller sizes for a traveling face cloth.
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Spouse/Partner
1 to 10 of 992 reviews