Contact Us 1-800-955-1925
Overseas Adventure Travel Reviews The Leader in Small Groups on the Road Less Traveled
Overseas Adventure Travel Reviews
Overseas Adventure Travel Reviews
Learn about our trips from the best source—our Traveler Reviews!
There’s no better way to learn what a trip is like than from the firsthand experiences of fellow travelers—which is why we created Overseas Adventure Travel Reviews. Here, you can read unedited travel reviews, giving you an honest appraisal of the discoveries that await you on our unique small-group adventures. Overseas Adventure Travel (OAT) was founded in Cambridge, Massachusetts in 1978 by a 28-year old high school teacher named Judi Wineland, who was inspired by a trip to Africa. From the beginning, OAT offered custom small-group tours to destinations around the world. In 1993 OAT was purchased by the Grand Circle Corporation, becoming the first U.S. travel company to create, operate, and sell adventure trips to Americans aged 50 and over.

Overseas Adventure Travel Reviews

Average Rating
4.8   4.8 | 992 reviews
937 out of 992 (94%) reviewers would recommend Overseas Adventure Travel
Rating Breakdown
5 ★   842
4 ★   104
3 ★   19
2 ★   12
1 ★   15
Rating Summary
Accomodations   5
Food   4
Itinery   5
Trip Leader   5
Value   5
Recent Reviews

Crossroads of the Adriatic: Croatia, Montenegro, Bosnia & Herzegovina, and Slovenia

Historic Balkans Explained by Dynamic Trip Leader

5   2 years ago
Our trip leader, Mateja, explained the complexities of the Balkan states beginning with Hapsburgs and Ottomans and ending with the breakup of Yugoslavia during the Homelands War of 1992-1996. All of this while walking through historic cities of Drubrovnik, Kotor, Sarejevo, Zagreb, and Ljubljana. You really begin to understand the turmoil of different religions and politics as you stand on the spot where WW1 began and walk through the Tunnel of Hope, built to endure the 2 year siege of Sarajevo by the Yugoslavian Army. The very serious military aspects are off set by travel to beautiful natural landscapes of Plitvice Lakes, overnighting in a farming village, boarding a pletna boat to an island church where we rang a bell to make our wish come true, and ambling through the stalagmites of Postojna Caves. Both Drubrovnik and Ljubljana are stunning red roofed cities with narrow cobblestone lanes. A visit to Tito's home village of Kumrovec opens up a new view of his goals for Yugoslavia, and you wonder what Yugoslavia would be like if he hadn't died in 1980. Above all, we appreciated Mateja's clarifying responses to our questions about the difference between Tito's socialism and Stalin's communism; why Slovenia and Croatia are members of the European Union while Montenegro and Bosnia-Herzegovina aren't; how the religious differences of Orthodix Serbs, Roman Catholics, and Muslims resulted in war. An added joy was the food and hospitality of the local people.Our Muslim Serejavo home hosts presented us with local specialties along with description of their daily work/student lives. We arrived home with souvenirs of gingerbread hearts, blueberry brandy, fig cakes, and strawberry jam!.
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Spouse/Partner

Real Affordable Peru

Great tour.

5   2 years ago
This was our first OAT adventure for my husband and I and we loved it. We took the Amazon pre trip and our travel mates were the best. The Amazon was hot and muggy but still very enjoyable. Our guide Luis was very good and accommodated all the different personalities on our tour. The accommodations were nice even though the first one was rustic. I did not enjoy the village visit because I felt like we were unwanted at the village. The people did a job but were not happy about it. Our main trip was great and so many neat lunches and dinners. Our guide Alvaro was the best! He loves his country and was a wonderful guide. I loved the whole trip even though most of us on the tour got sick.. I think one out of 16. Make sure to bring lots of pep to and a prescription of cipro with you. We were very careful so we were surprised that we got sick. We really enjoys Jose our guide in Lima. His knowledge of his country was great and he was good at communicating with our group. Always with a smile. Having him at the airport at the end of our trip was nice also. Nice touch OAT. The accommodations were all very nice and comfortable. I would recommend this tour.
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Spouse/Partner

Morocco Sahara Odyssey

Great Tour Leader

4   1 year ago
My wife and I both very much enjoyed our Tour Leader. The trip itinerary was a definite broad section of Morocco. You'll be able to experience a LOT! Accommodations varied from upscale hotels to tents. The variety was good. A few of the accommodations were subpar. It was particularly cold the first night in the tents. Everyone and I mean everyone learned from the experience. Many of us slept in our clothes the second night. No one on our trip experienced any medical issues. Bottled water was readily provided. Unfortunately, However, outside the major hotels, much of the food was...mediocre and boring. The so-called continental breakfast often consisted of 4 or 5 different bread products. Tajine is tasty the first few times you have it. Tangerines and oranges for dessert so often also grew tiring. The food is definitely NOT the highlight of the Moroccan experience. Having small local currency change for bathrooms is a bit of pain.
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Spouse/Partner

Untamed Iceland

Iceland is more + Blue Lagoon & rafting tips

5   2 years ago
Can enthusiastically recommend this adventure!! We learned about the country and how its location and history truly shaped its destiny. We met people to hear how they have survived and are making a living on this ever-changing island. Volcanic Iceland was a real surprise. #1 tip--be prepared for rain. We all geared up with waterproof (water-resistant will not protect you) and windproof items--jackets, rain pants, and shoes almost every day. Layering underneath will be dry and warm now. #2 tip--have a thumb/flash drive or cards in case you want to exchange photos (someone may have a laptop for the transfer). #3 tip--consider a waterproof camera. Here are some details and tips (for women) for the rafting trip and Blue Lagoon based on our experience. Rafting--avoid wearing cotton, wear wool or outdoor tech material. For women, wear a top and bottom you feel comfortable walking around in public (i.e., swim pieces, sports bra and bottom, etc.). Add the underlayer on top of this. This layering will let you go to the toilet and be ready to slip into the neoprene gear later. The changing area is a large room with only hooks for your outer clothes and dry underwear. When you get back, strip off all the outfitter gear in the gear area. Now you can strip off the underlayer and either pop into the sauna, or warm up/rinse off in the hot, hot showers before toweling off in the changing area. There are plastic bags in the changing area for your wet items. Blue Lagoon--OAT arranged with the hotel to provide a towel for everyone to borrow. After entering the hallway to the lockers, look up to the left at the monitor. It will show where the available lockers are located. Remove your shoes before entering the cubby/locker area (shoes on the shelves). Keep hair off neck, short hair can wear a shower cap. Totally undress (don't suit up yet) and take your towel and swimwear to the shower area. Plenty of conditioner available (and body gel/shampoo). Rinse and suit up. We hung our towels on the numbered hooks just outside of the shower area. After enjoying the Blue Lagoon, shower and clean up. You must be dry before entering the locker area. There will be an attendant checking on this. Plenty of good hair dryers and mirrors and lights. Remember to return towel to the bus. Enjoy the entire experience and I hope the above tips will help the detailed-obsessed, of which I am.
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Spouse/Partner

Real Affordable Peru

Amazing, wonderful Peru!

5   2 years ago
This trip far exceeded my expectations. It was my first trip with OAT and it will certainly not be my last. The trip leader was amazing and OAT delivered on everything they promised. As a solo traveler I fully appreciated the no single supplement policy and I had my own room as promised. The small group size lends itself to making new, possibly life long friends. The rooms and meals were outstanding. This was not just a vacation...this was a true life experience. The people of Peru are friendly and welcoming and invited into their rich lives, traditions and culture. You will not be disappointed in this trip...I can hardly wait until next summer to book my second trip with OAT!!
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Solo Traveler by Myself

Inside Vietnam

My favorite trip so far!

5   2 years ago
I didn't like the heat, but I liked everything else about this trip. The food was the best I've had on any trip...and the hotels were much better than I imagined. As good or better than any I've had on any trips I've taken. Our guide Tee was the best, true professional.
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Spouse/Partner

Namibia & the Skeleton Coast: Africa's Last Wilderness

YEAH - We saw cheetahs!!

5   1 year ago
Three cheetah brothers camouflaged themselves in the brush, but it didn?t stop our Andersson's Camp guide Michael Michael from spotting them. Excitement ruled, frenzy heightened as lorries from other lodges responded to radio transmissions that cheetahs were spotted. One guide, not respecting the unspoken rule of turning off the vehicle and not disturbing the cheetahs in their habitat, caused the cheetahs to move. He tried to take a shortcut and bypass other lorries, but karma intervened?he had a blowout, stranded with upset clients. Paybacks are tough! This is one example of our game drives throughout Namibia & The Skeleton Coast trip whether in Etosha National Park where the above story occurred or in Damaraland, driving through dry river beds to find desert elephants. Adventure peeked around every sand dune waiting for us to take advantage of it, climbing up the ridge of Sand Dune #45 in Sossusvlei to flying over the Skeleton Coast in a small bush plane to see the remnants of shipwrecks or whale bones littering the beaches. We were VERY lucky to experience clear skies and no fog while flying up the coast to Swakopmund. Somewhat jaded from balloon rides in the past, I decided to skip the champagne balloon ride over the dunes, but my friend INSISTED I join him. It was THE best one ever, from the captain?s commentary to his landing the basket on a trailer to the lovely champagne brunch. I?ve taken many trips with OAT and when friends ask me what my favorite trip is, I usually say I have many favorites, but now I can honestly say, Namibia ranks up at the top. I wanted to stay longer. Why? If you enjoy off-the-beaten-path unpredictable destinations, this trip?s for you. Namibia is an exciting country with diverse topography ranging from lush to barren to severe, however life exists under the surface of the harshest conditions. Its people are beautiful, full of life, and accommodating. It was a FABULOUS trip. My suggestion -- don?t miss this opportunity.
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Friends

Route of the Maya

MY First Trip With OAT Solo

5   2 years ago
This was my first trip with OAT. I traveled on this trip as a solo female and to be honest, I was nervous. As it turned out, the trip was an incredible experience I'll never forget. The best compliment I can give OAT is that a few days after I returned from Route of the Maya I booked a trip to Israel with OAT. I only hope I can do this trip justice in a review. First of all, let me say that I always felt safe on this trip. Most of our group of 14 had traveled with OAT multiple times. This wonderful group of people included me in everything. I never felt isolated or excluded. My fourteen traveling companions were intelligent, adventuresome people with a great sense of fun. I appreciated the fact that they were all so positive. We were also were very fortunate to have as our guide Vini, he was able to communicate so clearly his love for the Mayan people while being honest about the problems facing Central America. I was so impressed with his knowledge of history and culture,his compassion, and his laughter. I laughed a great deal on this trip. I also was sad to see so many people struggling just to feed their families. However, I found that regardless of the hardship, people living in this country are friendly, welcoming, and were always willing to help me with my poor knowledge of Spanish. I traveled at the end of February and found the weather perfect. If you are prone to sunburn, I would bring a hat. I brought a packable straw hat from travelsmith and will do so again whenever I travel in tropical climates. Needless to say, don't forget sun screen. Bring a travel size sunscreen to bring on the bus because you really do need to reapply sunscreen in this climate. It was the dry season when I traveled so I only found it necessary to use Deet a few times. After talking to my Doctor, I decided not to take anti-malarial drugs. He did advise that I get a rabies vaccination, and after visiting this country I found this sound advice. There are stray dogs everywhere in Central America and the medical care is poor. He said that if bitten they do not have the immunoglobulins necessary to administer. If bitten, one would need to fly back to the states for medical care. This is just something to think about as you make decisions about what is best for you. - There is walking on this trip and I really enjoyed the activity. I am 63, in good health, and walk almost daily when the weather permits. I had never used a walking stick but now see how it could be of benefit. I thought a walking stick was only for people with bad knees and hips. It is so much more. I plan on purchasing one that breaks down to fit easily in a suitcase. I should also note that we often had choices as to how much activity we wanted. - Take at least 50 one dollar bills. I took over 65 and still ran out. I will admit that I bought about 20 plus beaded birds when we visited the village by Lake Antigua. My friends loved them and the bead work is excellent. I had trouble getting my visa card to work when I was trying to get local currency. My visa worked everywhere else but the ATM at this mall. Our wonderful guide took me to his bank and they took my cash and made an exchange. Only one other person had this problem, but I was glad that I had brought plenty of cash. I had only one problem and it was with one hotel in Flores. Two stars is an over rating. My room had bugs crawling all over the bathroom and even in my bed. The hotel was quaint, but not in good repair. Vini changed my room immediately and it was bug free but still not someplace I would want to stay again. We had two amazing hotels, probably a 4-5 stars, and the rest were about 31/2. It would have been perfect if the Flores hotel was a 3-star. - I would also like to say that I think a company is a reflection of the people who work for them. I was so impressed with the individual who guided us through this amazing experience. He was very organized and somehow managed to get us everywhere on time. He also provided us with so many unique experiences. I will never look at this part of the world the same way. One thing of special note. One of our fellow travelers left their cardiac medications at home. I think we all know how easily something like this can happen. He worked very hard to make sure she had the necessary medications. Vini made this company look very good!! Thank you from the bottom of my heart Vini!! I think this is a very special company. If you want to feel really engaged and connected to the people and places you visit, then consider this company. Also, Please consider this trip to discover Central America and the beautiful people who live there. Feel free to use my customer number 002538158E. You will get 100 dollars off a trip. I hope this helps anyone considering travel decide what is best for them. Have fun traveling!!! Karen
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Solo Traveler by Myself

Burma: Land of Golden Temples & Floating Gardens

WOW - what a wonderful time I had in Myanmar !!

5   2 years ago
I can't think of a better trip to take. I have been to all of Indochina in the past few year, none with OAT, but this by far was the most interesting trip that I have been on. OAT has made a great itinerary for their guests - good food, very nice accommodations, comfortable travel arrangements (on busses), interesting locations to visit, some free time for us to explore on our own and the Guide, Joe, perfect for us. He was friendly, informative, nothing was ever too much for him to explain in detail and fun to be with. OAT is now going to be my ONLY travel company because the service they provide and the relatively inexpensive cost for what you receive is the BEST. PS - this is not a paid announcement !! :)
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Solo Traveler by Myself

Heart of India

A Thoughtful Introduction to India

5   2 years ago
My senses are still reeling from the overload of India! Sights, smells, tastes, and sounds....what a great introduction. Having travelled through and lived in other developing countries, I was not taken aback by the poverty and conditions I saw. In fact, I think one can actually observe progress for many inhabitants. Our guide was wonderful, accommodations were very comfy - and the food was delicious! The Taj Mahal is all I had imagined and read about - and the ancient Hindu temples were a wonder in themselves. Our group was fortunate to be able to have outings for those who were dedicated shoppers - so the rest of us could explore something else. It was a nice compromise. The evening with our host family was a delight for all of us - as was the dinner we were served. The school supported by GCF is the newest and best structure in the village - and the children seem happy to be there. I was proud to see what we travelers have helped manifest. The bottom line for me is that I want to go back and spend more time in India. This trip was a great introduction which sparked a desire to see and experience more - lots more!
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Solo Traveler by Myself
1 to 10 of 992 reviews