Contact Us 1-800-955-1925
Overseas Adventure Travel Reviews The Leader in Small Groups on the Road Less Traveled
Overseas Adventure Travel Reviews
Overseas Adventure Travel Reviews
Learn about our trips from the best source—our Traveler Reviews!
There’s no better way to learn what a trip is like than from the firsthand experiences of fellow travelers—which is why we created Overseas Adventure Travel Reviews. Here, you can read unedited travel reviews, giving you an honest appraisal of the discoveries that await you on our unique small-group adventures. Overseas Adventure Travel (OAT) was founded in Cambridge, Massachusetts in 1978 by a 28-year old high school teacher named Judi Wineland, who was inspired by a trip to Africa. From the beginning, OAT offered custom small-group tours to destinations around the world. In 1993 OAT was purchased by the Grand Circle Corporation, becoming the first U.S. travel company to create, operate, and sell adventure trips to Americans aged 50 and over.

Overseas Adventure Travel Reviews

Average Rating
4.8   4.8 | 992 reviews
937 out of 992 (94%) reviewers would recommend Overseas Adventure Travel
Rating Breakdown
5 ★   842
4 ★   104
3 ★   19
2 ★   12
1 ★   15
Rating Summary
Accomodations   5
Food   4
Itinery   5
Trip Leader   5
Value   5
Recent Reviews

Route of the Maya

MY First Trip With OAT Solo

5   2 years ago
This was my first trip with OAT. I traveled on this trip as a solo female and to be honest, I was nervous. As it turned out, the trip was an incredible experience I'll never forget. The best compliment I can give OAT is that a few days after I returned from Route of the Maya I booked a trip to Israel with OAT. I only hope I can do this trip justice in a review. First of all, let me say that I always felt safe on this trip. Most of our group of 14 had traveled with OAT multiple times. This wonderful group of people included me in everything. I never felt isolated or excluded. My fourteen traveling companions were intelligent, adventuresome people with a great sense of fun. I appreciated the fact that they were all so positive. We were also were very fortunate to have as our guide Vini, he was able to communicate so clearly his love for the Mayan people while being honest about the problems facing Central America. I was so impressed with his knowledge of history and culture,his compassion, and his laughter. I laughed a great deal on this trip. I also was sad to see so many people struggling just to feed their families. However, I found that regardless of the hardship, people living in this country are friendly, welcoming, and were always willing to help me with my poor knowledge of Spanish. I traveled at the end of February and found the weather perfect. If you are prone to sunburn, I would bring a hat. I brought a packable straw hat from travelsmith and will do so again whenever I travel in tropical climates. Needless to say, don't forget sun screen. Bring a travel size sunscreen to bring on the bus because you really do need to reapply sunscreen in this climate. It was the dry season when I traveled so I only found it necessary to use Deet a few times. After talking to my Doctor, I decided not to take anti-malarial drugs. He did advise that I get a rabies vaccination, and after visiting this country I found this sound advice. There are stray dogs everywhere in Central America and the medical care is poor. He said that if bitten they do not have the immunoglobulins necessary to administer. If bitten, one would need to fly back to the states for medical care. This is just something to think about as you make decisions about what is best for you. - There is walking on this trip and I really enjoyed the activity. I am 63, in good health, and walk almost daily when the weather permits. I had never used a walking stick but now see how it could be of benefit. I thought a walking stick was only for people with bad knees and hips. It is so much more. I plan on purchasing one that breaks down to fit easily in a suitcase. I should also note that we often had choices as to how much activity we wanted. - Take at least 50 one dollar bills. I took over 65 and still ran out. I will admit that I bought about 20 plus beaded birds when we visited the village by Lake Antigua. My friends loved them and the bead work is excellent. I had trouble getting my visa card to work when I was trying to get local currency. My visa worked everywhere else but the ATM at this mall. Our wonderful guide took me to his bank and they took my cash and made an exchange. Only one other person had this problem, but I was glad that I had brought plenty of cash. I had only one problem and it was with one hotel in Flores. Two stars is an over rating. My room had bugs crawling all over the bathroom and even in my bed. The hotel was quaint, but not in good repair. Vini changed my room immediately and it was bug free but still not someplace I would want to stay again. We had two amazing hotels, probably a 4-5 stars, and the rest were about 31/2. It would have been perfect if the Flores hotel was a 3-star. - I would also like to say that I think a company is a reflection of the people who work for them. I was so impressed with the individual who guided us through this amazing experience. He was very organized and somehow managed to get us everywhere on time. He also provided us with so many unique experiences. I will never look at this part of the world the same way. One thing of special note. One of our fellow travelers left their cardiac medications at home. I think we all know how easily something like this can happen. He worked very hard to make sure she had the necessary medications. Vini made this company look very good!! Thank you from the bottom of my heart Vini!! I think this is a very special company. If you want to feel really engaged and connected to the people and places you visit, then consider this company. Also, Please consider this trip to discover Central America and the beautiful people who live there. Feel free to use my customer number 002538158E. You will get 100 dollars off a trip. I hope this helps anyone considering travel decide what is best for them. Have fun traveling!!! Karen
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Solo Traveler by Myself

Real Affordable Peru

Wonderful Trip

5   2 years ago
We saw a LOT in Peru and the trip was very enjoyable thanks to our fabulous guide, Patty Bravo, and a sympatico group of travelers ( no whiners or prima donnas ). In addition to the big ticket Inca items like Machu Picchu, we also very much enjoyed meeting the people and our little surprise stops like a clay oven bakery, weavers coop and a chicha bar. Patty was funny, efficient, knowledgeable and a paragon of patience. We also did the Amazon pre trip. I was a little disappointed in that we did not see a lot of wild life except in a animal rescue site. However, it was worth it just seeing the great expanses of river and jungle.
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Spouse/Partner

NEW! Tuscany & Umbria: Rustic Beauty in the Italian Heartland

My BLOG on Tuscany/Umbria, Our Fifth OAT Tour

5   2 years ago
Alleluia _ An Overseas Adventure _ My World Economy class air travel is probably the main reason why anyone in his or her right mind would avoid overseas travel. The Disneyland queues for security, boarding and customs, long flight times, claustrophobic seating, the difficulty in trying to sleep in a semi upright blood pooling, ankle swelling position, and worst of all, the crying and shrieking colicky infants is enough to send most people screaming for the exits. There has to be a big reward for enduring this kind of deep venous blood clotting mind-numbing abuse. Fortunately, the brain suffers a form of pain amnesia if the time between overseas trips is sufficiently long. The big reward, in our most recent trip from the U.S. to Italy was a spectacular cultural and fulfilling experience. That made it all worthwhile. Although, with the return flight fresh in my mind, it took a little time before I was ready to reminisce about my experience. It was worth the wait. Read on if you are interested in the rest of the world. Alleluia. Meet our tour guide, Olivia, and our spiritual guide, Brother Ignacio. See a sea of light. Find an answer to your prayers. Read on. Let me be your travel guide. I?ll paint pictures for you with words. Alleluia This is not a Rick Steves travelogue. It?s better. It?s about what made a great experience for someone who needed a rest and did not want to make any decisions. _Just point me?, I say. I had had recent back surgery and needed a mental break from the constant post-operative discomfort and uncertainty about my progress. Excluding the confinement on the plane, the opportunity for walking, resting and the camaraderie of a congenial group was going to be good for me. Somebody else was going to lift my heavy travel duffle. The wine served at lunch and dinner was a good muscle relaxant and analgesic. _Wine?, they say. _Its not only for breakfast!? This was our fifth approximately two-week trip with Overseas Adventure Travel (OAT). Over the years we?ve been to Peru and Patagonia in South America, Costa Rica in Central America and Iceland/Eastern Greenland. I?ve written about our travels and adventures in previous blogs and in my two memoirs _Hiking Out? and _Inside and Outside?. OAT specializes in intimate small group (usually around 15 travelers) adventure and educational travel. Their travel packages are an incredible value. Their guides are highly motivated, bilingual, knowledgeable and personable. They are like family. You often meet members of their family. You meet other families in home hosted events and meals. You want to take all them home with you. You learn every thing about the country you are in, including the good and bad. Two weeks seems like two months of immersion in the culture. I wrote the following edited article for a local newsletter about our trip: Our Italy Vacation The Sederquists enjoyed a memorable two weeks in Italy on an Overseas Adventure (OAT) tour May 7_21. OAT specializes in small, intimate and educational overseas group travel. There were 15 seasoned and enthusiastic OAT travelers on this tour. This was their fifth excursion with OAT including two in South America, Latin America and Iceland/Eastern Greenland and their third major trip to Italy since retirement. This tour focused on the Tuscany and Umbria regions of Italy in a small van with four 3 night hotel stays and local road trips throughout these regions, finally ending in a beautiful countryside villa outside of Rome for one night before flying home. OAT lives up to their middle name, Adventure, an incredible value with very knowledgeable and friendly 24/7 guides. Her name was Olivia, and she was loved (and she loved us back) by all of us. The tour included visits to the regions around Lucca, Chianti, Florence, Siena, Pienza, Trevi, Norcia, Assisi and the countryside outside of Rome. There were extra virgin olive oil tastings, wine tastings, and two home hosted visits including truffle hunting in a mountain village reached by a winding precipitous road with no guardrails. Two incredible experiences were an interview with a man who experienced the German presence in Florence as a child during World War Two (I told our local guide, _It was better than visiting a thousand cathedrals.?) and an interview with a Benedictine Monk, Brother Ignacio, in Norcia, about his life story and devotion to work and singing chants during daily services. In a rare and unexpected opportunity, he sang for the group. _Alleluia, Alleluia.? I asked him if he considered himself a baritone. He responded that he was, but his range allowed him to sing tenor. Then he said humorously that when it comes to singing, some of the brothers consider singing a _Joy?. To others, who are musically challenged, singing might be considered a _Penance?. Whatever, they put their heart and soul into it. They are very good. The food and wine flowed for the whole trip. As they say, _When in Rome, do as the Romans do. ? and _I?ll start dieting tomorrow.? Every morning our guide, Olivia, would greet the group with her favorite word, _Bambolini?, which means her little dolls or my little charges. She kept the group enchanted throughout the day with a fount on knowledge with all the good and the bad about Italy. OAT does not hold back on telling you all the things you would like to know about the place you are visiting. Indeed, this was an incredible trip. While in Norcia, in the Umbria region, at the conclusion of our visit with and interview with a Benedictine monk, I stopped and looked at an array of small burning candles in a small local church left by visitors in memory of departed loved ones and as prayers for friends, relatives and the world to heal itself. I?ve never done this before, figuring this is something for practicing Catholics. My feet were locked to the floor. I couldn?t leave that bank of flickering lights. I deposited a Euro in the collection box. I took a new candle and lit it, placing it next to the others. My eyes blurred by the liquid lens distorting my vision, turning the many individual candles into a sea of light. I prayed for the continued health of my hiking friends, heroes who have faced life-threatening medical conditions. May they never ever have to face those challenges again! Although I struggle praying to a personal God, I performed a leap of faith. I wanted to believe that my prayers were heard. Here is a link to National Public Radio?s (NPR?s) recent article about the Benedictine Monks of Norcia. It talks about how they brew craft beer and published their first singing album, _Benedicta?, to support their mission. Brother Ignacio is there in the photograph. I?ll never forget what he sang, _Alleluia. Alleluia. Al-le-lu-ia? It seemed like a personal blessing for my prayers. http://www.npr.org/sections/deceptivecadence/2015/06/06/412288704/for-benedictine-monks-the-joy-of-making-albums-and-beer?utm_source=facebook.com&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=npr&utm_term=nprnews&utm_content=20150606
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Spouse/Partner

Israel: The Holy Land & Timeless Cultures

Israel

5   2 years ago
This was without a doubt the best trip I've ever taken. The tour guide was outstanding, the food wonderful and the learning experiences I had were unforgettable.
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Friends

Real Affordable Costa Rica

Did you ever rescue a sloth?

5   2 years ago
I I returned from this trip full of wonderful memories. Fellow travelers, tour guide Nestor Zeledon and our driver Frank, waking up to either the birds singing or monkeys howling, ziplining, lazy afternoon swims - this is just a sample of all the pleasures of this trip. It was just the right mixture of activities and down time to suit me perfectly. I did not miss lack of TV or wifi in the room or even AC - as a matter of fact, I was glad to be able to reconnect a little bit with a simpler way of life. I came home refreshed, relaxed, and ready for the next OAT adventure.
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Solo Traveler by Myself

Turkey's Magical Hideaways

Awesome Trip

5   2 years ago
This Turkey trip was awesome. The Cappadocia region was outstanding with the history and the mountain caves. The balloon ride over the area was the best. The four nights on the gullet along the Turquoise Coast was so beautiful and relaxing. Besim was our program director and he was one of the best ever. And as always the home hosted and school visits were very enjoyable and educational.
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Solo Traveler by Myself

Morocco Sahara Odyssey

Morocco a must on your bucket list

5   2 years ago
Aziz was a wonderful leader, with a great sense of humor. He is so proud of his country.. He was always available for us to ask questions or just tell us some of the history. We included the pre trip which was fabulous. We spent a few nights having happy hour at our hotel and playing games. Great way to meet everyone. We visited a Nomad who wasn't sure how long she would be at that site. She was thinking of moving on soon. She was great and Aziz was terrific in communicating with her. We shared a lunch with a Berber family and later dressed in their clothing for pictures. The lunch was some of the best food we had while traveling in the country. The Sahara was another great adventure. Camel riding was right on top of the list of a fun experience. Aziz made sure those of us in the group who wanted to sleep under the stars were able to. The beds were comfortable and we had plenty of blankets, as it gets cold at night. We visited many families and shared meals with a few. The stop along the road to talk to the farmers was another learning experience. We were able to jump off of the bus and talk with them, they cut some of the veggies for us to try. The Medina in Fez was super, it is huge and we easily could have gotten lost, but with Aziz that wasn't going to happen. The ride through the Atlas Mts was incredible. Some of us ended up with an extra night in Marrakesh at the end, so Aziz also stayed on his own for us Aziz took us to Essaouira for the day. We were able to see the fish that the fishermen caught that morning and were selling. We then walked through the Medina and down the ocean for a bit. Our lunch of fish was outstanding. I could go on and on but you need to experience this trip for yourselves. Enjoy.
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Friends

Crossroads of the Adriatic: Croatia, Montenegro, Bosnia & Herzegovina, and Slovenia

Every day was a new adventure!

5   1 year ago
This was our first time traveling with OAT, but definitely not our last. Thank you Marko, our tour leader, for imparting a wealth of information while keeping our group laughing on a daily basis!! This tour provides a complete variety of landscapes and experiences - from the farmlands of Karanac to the sophisticated streets of Zagreb. We enjoyed the opportunity to truly understand the people and their history, not only on the home visits, but through the personal backgrounds of our local guides, each of whom came from the areas toured, thus providing their own perspectives.They all managed to make the tours not only educational, but just plain fun!
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Spouse/Partner

The Baltic Capitals & St. Petersburg

Enjoyable Baltic Capitals & St. Petersburg Trip

5   2 years ago
I really enjoyed my first OAT trip! It was a pleasure to meet everyone in the group. Pasha (Pavel Barazov) was such a gem, so patient and knowledgeable. All the local guides were excellent too. It was an honor to meet local people, and to visit so many beautiful, historic and meaningful sites; I was impressed with all these societies have accomplished in just 25 years.
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Solo Traveler by Myself

NEW! Southern Peru & Bolivia: Inca Landscapes & Lake Titicaca

Surprise soars over La Paz, Bolivia

5   2 years ago
I have heard stories about Bolivia and Southern Peru when I married my husband in 1966. His great-granduncle was a mining engineer and had lived and worked in these countries for 10 years. He died there in 1909. It was only natural to book this trip and see the places for myself. My husband was not well enough to join me but I promised him I would take many pictures to show him later what I saw. This OAT trip was new for tourism. The itinerary with post trip was a good selection of both countries. OAT prepared us well for this trip and I read up on all the material they had sent. Our trip leader was Corina Duran, we called her Qory, a Quechua nickname. She truly loves her job and was very caring. Qory explained everything so well. She was strict in order for us not to get sick, have altitude, water or food problems. On several occasions she gave us water enhanced with electrolytes. She is very knowledgeable in any subject and goes out of her way to make one experience life to the fullest. Qory helped us out with exchanging money, even gave us loans. The city and country guides were excellent. We learned so much from each one of them: Franz in Lima; Liz in Arequipa and Colca Canyon; Edgar in Puno and Lake Titicaca; Williams starting from the Bolivian border to the end of La Paz; and Juan Carlos from Sucre, Potosi to the Uyuni Salt Flats. I was very impressed how well they mastered English as their second or third language. To some of the guides I gave a coin as a gift, the Sacagawea dollar. They learned that the United States also had Native American Indians living on their soil as first inhabitants. The pacing of the trip was good. Occasionally we had free time. We were always given maps to explore a few things on our own and on foot. Since I did not speak Spanish it was better to stay near the hotel. When we had dinner on our own we would patronized some of the restaurants which were recommended in cities. One meal or soup stands out: Kalaphurka, a Bolivian _stone soup? in Potosi, made from corn, veggies, and pork, heated by dropping a piping hot black, volcano stone into the middle of the bowl. The soup is served bubbling and steaming itself a miniature volcano. I will never forget the display and the great taste of the soup. A few other points about the trip: 1) We were 13 people on the trip. In Puno a couple had to fly home for medical reasons. They had not signed up for the post trip. 8 people went on the post trip. 2) We were advised by OAT to get a Yellow Fever vaccination. My Public Health Clinic in California said that only persons 9 months through 59 years of age should get a vaccination. My doctor wrote an official vaccination waiver. No one ever asked for the required documentation. 3) I caught a nasty sinus infection early on from another traveler. It did not go away. At home my doctor prescribed Levofloxacin 500 MG Tablets. It treats a bacterial infection. I wished I had taken this medication along on my trip. 4) I just wrote two post cards and mailed them from the Real Plaza Hotel in La Paz on July 3, 2015. The hotel had their own mailbox in the lobby. One card I had mailed to myself has not arrived as of 8/13/2015. 5) This final item goes back to the beginning of my review. As I wrote I did this trip for sentimental reasons. On our last free afternoon in La Paz I planned to check out an American school. The son of our great-granduncle had gone to school there in 1907-1909. I had found out at home that it was still standing. The hotel desk manager told me it was nearby and I could walk. It was 3 PM; I followed his instructions and went along El Prado, turned left on Landaete. There I was approached by a fake woman tourist and on the other side of the street by a fake plain clothed policeman. He wanted to know if I had a passport, I said yes. Suddenly the woman stood by me and flashed her passport to him. He said we should go with him in a car to the nearby police station and have our passports stamped. I stood my ground and firmly said _NO? and that I would go back to the Hotel. The two got into the waiting car and drove away on the one way street. I realized that I was almost kidnapped. Back at the hotel I was told that it was a Scam. It was arranged that a Hotel Taxi would get me safely to the school, wait and also take me back. I saw the school, took pictures and my mission was accomplished. _ All?s well that ends well.
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Solo Traveler by Myself
1 to 10 of 992 reviews