Contact Us 1-800-955-1925
Overseas Adventure Travel Reviews The Leader in Small Groups on the Road Less Traveled
Overseas Adventure Travel Reviews
Overseas Adventure Travel Reviews
Learn about our trips from the best source—our Traveler Reviews!
There’s no better way to learn what a trip is like than from the firsthand experiences of fellow travelers—which is why we created Overseas Adventure Travel Reviews. Here, you can read unedited travel reviews, giving you an honest appraisal of the discoveries that await you on our unique small-group adventures. Overseas Adventure Travel (OAT) was founded in Cambridge, Massachusetts in 1978 by a 28-year old high school teacher named Judi Wineland, who was inspired by a trip to Africa. From the beginning, OAT offered custom small-group tours to destinations around the world. In 1993 OAT was purchased by the Grand Circle Corporation, becoming the first U.S. travel company to create, operate, and sell adventure trips to Americans aged 50 and over.

Overseas Adventure Travel Reviews

Average Rating
4.8   4.8 | 992 reviews
937 out of 992 (94%) reviewers would recommend Overseas Adventure Travel
Rating Breakdown
5 ★   842
4 ★   104
3 ★   19
2 ★   12
1 ★   15
Rating Summary
Accomodations   5
Food   4
Itinery   5
Trip Leader   5
Value   5
Recent Reviews

Ancient Kingdoms: Thailand, Laos, Vietnam & Cambodia

great trip

5   2 years ago
Except for the extremely long plane ride, this trip was excellent. All the historical sites we visited were wonderful or at the very least, interesting. Angkor Wat, and Angkor Thom were spectacular. Another unique experience was in giving alms to the local monks in Laos.
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Extended Family

Safari Serengeti: Tanzania Lodge & Tented Safari

Please Don't Miss This Trip

5   2 years ago
My Husband and I had the privilege of going to Safari Serengeti this summer. We have traveled through the US, Europe and spent some time in Asia, but our African Safari trip was by far our greatest experience. It was everything we had hoped for and much much more. After the first day we thought we could go home because it was so fantistic how could it possibly get any better. Each day was a new adventure and better than the pervious day. It was Emmanuel our trip leader who worked so hard to make everything perfect, along with Everest and Joseph our drivers that made our trip so wonderful. The touring, food, accommodations, were beyond what we thought it would be. We do not want to go into any more details so we do not spoil it for future safari travelers. Highlights----Oh My Gosh this is so hard but if we have to pick one it would be our tent camp in the Serengeti. Everything was such a great experience, the amimal drives, the sunrise & sunsets, our baloon ride, night viewing was spectacular feeling you could reach out and touch the stars, food very good, and accommodations (had glitches but it would not have been camping without them and they were taken care of right away). Kay one of our camp crew was fantastic always making sure we had what we wanted before we asked for it. The entire trip was a trip of a lifetime an experience we will never forget. To sum it up it would not have been the tour it was without our boys Emmanuel, Everest and Joseph. Jumbo guys you're the best.
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Spouse/Partner

Route of the Maya

Excellent trip - so much to learn

5   2 years ago
We hadn't originally planned to take this trip since we had visited Maya sites in Mexico but when our friends decided to take it, we went. This was a wonderful trip. It was made special by our excellent trip leader Vinicio Alba (Viny) and many of the terrific local guides who taught us much and showed us their history. Our companions, all 14, were the best we have traveled with ever and it would be wonderful to see them again one day. The weather was perfect and the sites and stories remarkable. The pace was very good. On the days when we had long distances from one area to another, the stops along the way were well chosen and informative. The local guides were all spectacular. We were especially impressed by the day tour of La Antigua with Judith Bautista, our tour of Copan with Rodolfo, and Nathaniel at Lamanai, just to name a few. We had the remarkable experience of seeing a Lenten procession and learned of the tradition of kite making with Federico. We saw one of the spectacular kites too. If you don't travel there, be sure to read about this. Visiting the homes and the children are always a special part of the trips with OAT and this was the case here too. We did the optional zipline and horseback rides to our delight. Both Daniel and Eber, our bus drivers, were safety conscious and excellent travel companions. The sight of the volcano puffing out ash - was like being on a movie set! We think that this is a trip not to be missed. From the colors, the people, the history and the sites, it is a feast for all and thank all who made this possible especially our fellow travelers.
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Spouse/Partner

Heart of India

India: overwhelming, magical, spiritual.

5   2 years ago
HEART OF INDIA March 11-April 2 This was our second OAT trip. We didnt expect that any experience could measure up to our 2014 OAT trip to Southern Africa but we were pleasantly surprised. Heart of India is wisely named as it is an experience which speaks to your heart and spirit. Our trip leader, Prabhu was professional, knowledgeable and personable but most importantly he was a man whose informative insights were heartfelt. India is amazing and overwhelming, a country of contrasts. It is hard to find words that describe the sights, sounds, smells: the cows, the traffic, the horns, the temples, the Ganges at sunset and sunrise, the marigolds, the brightly colored jeweled saris, the rickshaw ride through Old Delhi, riding the crowded metro in Delhi, making naan with the locals in a soup kitchen in a Sikh temple which feeds 15000 daily, enjoying a home hosted dinner in Jaipur and learning how to make Indian appetizers, trying to cross a street, the ornately carved ancient temples in Khajuraho, seeing the Taj Mahal at sunset and again bathed in the early morning light, the modern buildings and new construction in Mumbai alongside the slums, the tropical landscape of Kerala and serene fishing villages of the backwaters, the pink city of Jaipur, the snake charmer, spending the morning with a family of tigers while on safari in Ranthambore National Park, learning how to put on a sari and dressing in one for our farewell dinner, hoisting the old Chinese fishing nets in Cochin, visiting Ghandi's memorial in Delhi and his museum in Mumbai, visiting the President's botanical gardens, traveling on the train to Jhansi and discussing 'snow' with an Indian family who were so excited about seeing photos of this year's snowfall in Boston. Prabhu"s discussion each day with us while traveling on the bus gave us insights into every aspect of the cultural, historical, political and social life of Mother India. Learning about arranged marriages and reading the related 'want ads' in the newspaper was a highlight.. It will take us months to digest all that we saw and all that we learned. Our Heart of India experience has bombarded our senses and carved a place in our mind and heart forever. Experiencing India, its culture and history requires some early morning travel days; it requires a sense of humor and an adventurous spirit. Having said that OAT has this trip down to a science. Prabhu, our trip leader arranged all aspects like clockwork. He provided our group with so many extra experiences not mentioned in the itinerary. All went smoothly. Hotels were modern, some palatial. Transportation comfortable and reliable. Before we left on our trip many friends and relatives questioned : Why India.? Our response is that all who truly wish to be enriched by world travel must consider seeing this incredible country as soon as possible as we suspect that "progress" and modernization may compromise some of its uniqueness and culture. Which hotel offered free wifi, which restaurant was better than the next is irrelevant when you consider the total picture. I believe that all things considered Oat is the best value for the base trip, the best way to go when visiting India. The security of having a guide with you all the time smooths some of the rough spots inherent in travel to this interesting country. The small group experience allowed us to experience so many impromptu activities such as visiting a potter, walking through remote villages, stopping along the roadside to feed the cows and dropping in on a Hindu temple celebration replete with a 20plus piece band, fireworks and elephants decked out in regalia. The stay at the Oat Camp was filled with cooking lessons, cricket lessons and dancing lessons around an open fire. The men in our group learned how to put on a turban and dhoti .The visit to the school was eye opening. A few of us prepared activites for the children. Our group enjoyed the songs we prepared and requested the 'Hokey Pokey' . Some things transcend the miles and cultures. The morning of our visit the school had just received sorely needed desks and chairs from the OAT foundation. The principal and his helpers were busy assembling and painting the desks. We had our photo taken with the new furniture. Several in our group experienced mild Delhi Belly for a day. Bring along some pepto bismol and imodium. We had no problem with the water or a particular food. It seems that mixing many different spicy foods at the buffets does not sit well with our American digestive limitations. ATMs were readily available. All hotels exchanged money at a decent rate. Other than souvenirs and a few lunches and dinners all was included. Prabhu conducted a bus bazaar after most tours. This made it easy to shop. Value for the money: We did not take international air through OAT as we were able to find the same international flight they recommended for about $400 pp less. We arranged OAT transfers. They were well worth the fees. All in all the main trip was excellent value. Based on your comfort level consider doing the post trip on your own as language is not a barrier especially in Southern India and private guides are readily available. Would recommend only one night on the backwaters and spend at least a second night in Mumbai. In summary, book this trip and India will enrich your mind and spirit forever,
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Spouse/Partner

Crossroads of the Adriatic: Croatia, Montenegro, Bosnia & Herzegovina, and Slovenia

A Trip with a lot of Adventure

5   2 years ago
Our leader Valho was excellent. Enjoyed the Dubrovnik walls,700 steps and a lot of ups and downs, but great views, a must do. Every day there was a interesting experience. The weather on this trip July was blue sky and very warm from day one until Ljubljana the last stop where it was overcast and some rain. Three of the outstanding sights were Plitvice Lakes, Postojnska Cave and Lake Bled/Castle. In Sarajevo I suggest Zlatna Ribca Barsija for a good Irish Coffee and a fun decorated toliet. Also for a great view go to the Avaz Twist Tower - 32 stories up, you can have a drink with your view. For dinner I suggest the Sarajevo Brewery, good food, great Tiramisu and dark beer. Live music starting at 9PM most nights In Ljubljana visit Metelkova City a colorful, funky, graffiti, wild art area, this is next to three museums with the Slovene Ethnographic museum being the best. Every Friday next to St. Nicholas Church is a great food fair. I like Cacao Bakery for Gelato and great deserts, it is near the three bridge area. On Saturday there is a Craft Market and on Sunday there is a big Flea Market. Hearing about the internal 1991-1993 war was informative but sad.
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Solo Traveler by Myself

Heart of India

India is so much... sites, sounds, smells!

4   2 years ago
My adventure started even before I got to India. I was to arrive at 3am by myself. OAT arranged to have me met at the airport and escorted to my hotel. It worked and I'm so grateful. Later I met up with the group and trip leaders, "Indie" Tripani. Indie was handsome, very knowledgeable,kind and humorous. I learned so much about Indian culture, religions, food, and past and present history. He added to our experiences. He had us take a ride on the Metro to show us how India is trying to modernize its transportation system and reduce pollution. Another time at Varaneshi , when walking the streets to the ghats, He had 4 deaf young men act as helpers and assistants to those who needed assistants going up and down the steep steps. So thoughtful. The people of India are amazing, so helpful and very kind to tourists. At times the poverty,garbage,and noise is overwhelming but the beauty of the country and people more than make up for any discomfort. All our accommodations were more than adequate; however, some were truly unique and lux. The Nahargarh in Rathambore and Jaypee Palace in Agra were both like living in a true Taj Mahal. The Aagman Indian Camp was not roughing it at all. However the thounder, lightning and downpours made it a true adventure.
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Extended Family

Nepal & the Mystical Himalayas

Culturally and physically interesting

5   2 years ago
Jon's comments in the previous review are very accurate, so I won't repeat what he's already stated. I would add that you should be in very good physical condition for this trip due to the elevation and amount of trekking/hiking. Accommodations are very good, and while the food does not have a huge amount of variety, it is good (although Everest beer is quite good). This trip had the most diverse activities of any OAT trip. Here are some additional tips: 1) Don't exchange more than $50, since the exchange rate is not enough to make a huge difference and US $ are accepted most everywhere. 2) If you fly into Dubai, you may want to consider adding one day to your trip to tour Dubai. We arrived with only enough time to check in at the hotel and grab a snack. We left early in the morning and would have liked to see Dubai, but there wasn't enough time. 3) You are provided with trekking poles and backpacks for trekking, so you may not want to bring them with you. 4) We just returned, and didn't have any bugs and only one day of rain. 5) River rafting was great fun. Consider trying the 'river float' wearing only your life jacket. It was invigorating. 6) The Elephant ride into the jungle was fantastic. We were fortunate to see rhino, wild boar, storks, and deer. The pace of this trip is very fast, but there's so much to see and do you won't want to miss a thing.
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Spouse/Partner

Amazon River Cruise & Rain Forest

Such a beautiful adventure!

5   2 years ago
We were quite impressed with the way the whole trip was organized, with just the right variety of activities to give us a great picture of the environmental and cultural aspects of the Upper Amazon. The hotels and restaurants in Lima and Iquitos were perfect. The Aquamarina was not a luxury cruise ship, but served us well, I think if we had been on one of the more luxurious ships, it would have felt out of place with the area we were exploring. I can't say enough about our tour director, Edgard, For one thing, he knew exactly how to help us interact with the local people. Edgard and our naturalist guide, Victor, both were amazing at spotting the wildlife along the river. I've put a photo blog online that pretty much tells the story of our trip. SPOILER ALERT!!! Part of the fun of the trip was discovering all of things about the area that we didn't know. If you are seriously thinking of taking the trip, you may want to make those discoveries for yourself. Here's the link if you are interested: https://johnandcathystravels.shutterfly.com/pictures/18
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Spouse/Partner

Turkey's Magical Hideaways

A unique experience!

5   1 year ago
I've been dithering about whether to leave a review for my trip, because the experience we had was unique: our group was going to be small to begin with, and then the other party cancelled at the last minute so my TC (traveling companion) and I had essentially a private tour. When I talked to customer service after the trip, the agent said she'd never heard of that happening! I did want to sing the praises of our trip leader, Ilke Duru. The downside of our private tour was that there weren't any other people to talk to! For two weeks! Fortunately, Ilke is warm, friendly and has a great sense of humor -- she hung out with us and we were able to talk with her and really get a feel for what it's like to be living in Turkey in these troubled times. I think with a trip leader who was less willing to engage, it would have been a very different experience. We crossed paths with an OAT group with five, and apparently they'd had some kind of falling out and split into two factions, so smaller is not necessarily better. That said, the smaller the group, the easier it is for the trip leader to customize it, and I would recommend that everyone engage with their trip leader and let him/her know about any special needs, preferences, etc. For example, I asked Ilke about a famous baklava cafe and where the find the best chocolate in Istanbul, and she took us to both as part of our tour of that part of the city, and has done similar things even with a larger group. Our departure date was October 22. According to Ilke, the late season departures are often smaller groups, especially the ones that don't have a mandatory trip extension. Except for some rain in Istanbul, the weather was perfect and the water was still warm enough to swim. We had the counterclockwise (ending in Cappodocia) itinerary, and I think I preferred it (Ilke says she prefers it as well).
✘ No, I do not recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Friends

Best of Brazil: Cultural Rhythms & Natural Wonders

Brazil Baby! Nature lovers wanted.......

5   1 year ago
The Brazil trip was wonderful from beginning to end. The people, the history, & the natural beauty of Brazil left me amazed......If you see something you might want to take home, buy it now. Except items in Rio, you may never find it again. The initial price of tour is higher but you don't have to put out much during the tour. Our trip leader Koen was on top of everything to make our tour the best ever!
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Solo Traveler by Myself
1 to 10 of 992 reviews